Talchum mask dance, Korea - IB Theatre - Research Presentation (first assessment 2024)

Resources for: Talchum mask dance, Korea

Books

Korean Mask Dance by Tong-il Cho
ISBN: 9788973006410
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Contents: Genesis and Evolution of Korean Mask Danco -- Names and Origins - Rural Dance, Vagrant Dance, Urban Dance - Facts about Urban Dance - Significance of Succession - A Comparative Study of Ground Principles: 1. What is the Issue? - 2. Drama of Catharsis - 3. Drama of Rasa - 4. Drama of Sinmyongpuri - 5. Four Characteristics. (Link is to WorldCat.)
Tal and Talchum by Nan-sook Kang
ISBN: 9788963257358
Publication Date: 2011
Masks are called tal in Korean, but they are also known by many other names such as gamyeon, gwangdae, chorani, talbak and talbagaji. Korean masks come with black cloth attached to the sides of the mask designed to cover the back of the head and also to simulate black hair.
Talchum is a form of drama featuring the wearing of masks, singing and dancing.
It was originally a regional term only applied to mask dances traditional to Hwanghae Province. The tradition of mask dance is found throughout the Korean Peninsula and each regional variation displays distinctive characteristics. (Link is to WorldCat.)

Article

Dance Drama, Mask—Korea
Topic overview.Korean mask dance drama, t'alch'um (sandae nori), dates back to prehistoric Korean shaman rituals. Mask dance dramas were performed to propitiate the spirits during the agricultural year, repel evil, honor ancestors, and ensure bountiful harvests. Today, the dance dramas, in reality, short skits, are a combination of music, dance, song, and narrative combined with humor. Author: Noelle O'Connor. Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, edited by Karen Christensen and David Levinson, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002, p. 248. Gale eBooks.

Websites

Masks & the Mask Dance
Explanation of the different types of traditional mask dance performances in Korea, including the Mask dances performed as part of shamanic rituals (Seonanggut Talchum), the Mask dances of five clowns (Ogwangdae), the Mask dances performed in an open field (Yaryu or Deulloreum), the Mask dances from the Seoul and Gyeonggi Province areas (Sandae Nori), the Mask dances from Hwanghae Province (Haeseo Talchum), and the Lion dance performances (Saja Noreum). Includes discussion of basic themes and movements of mask dances, with one section devoted to Talchum movements. Presented by korea.net - the official website of the Republic of Korea.

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Geographical Targeting in Google Searches

A performance of a traditional Korean mask dance, Songpa Sandae Noli, North Korea, 1962 - Britannica ImageQuest The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) assigns two-letter codes for country-coded top-level domains in Internet addresses. (See link to full country code list below.) These codes follow the ISO 2-alpha codes assigned by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) under its standard ISO 3166 in nearly all cases.

To do a targeted search for websites from a certain country: type in site:, followed by the two-letter IANA country code before your search term

Sample search for websites from the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea) or the Republic of Korea (South Korea) with information on Talchum: site:kp talchum or site:kr talchum

Internet Country Codes - Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA)
List of two-letter country codes designating Internet domains, along with other codes (generic, generic-restricted, infrastructure-related, and sponsored).

Videos for: Talchum mask dance, Korea

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: WSA Databases

EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Need an authoritative source on your world theatre tradition? Search EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection! This database contains thousands of eBook titles and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Coverage in eBook content is 1963 to the present.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) supports research in topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.SEE THE BOX BELOW for a list of publications in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) with articles on theatre and drama.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Gale eBooks for reference sources on topics in the arts, history, literature, multicultural studies, religion, social sciences, and more. Search specific terms related to your world theatre tradition.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the "Images" tab to look for images related to your world theatre tradition. JSTOR now holds the entire image collection of Artstor! The default "All content" tab searches both JSTOR's collection of full-text scholarly articles and open access eBooks, along with the image collections.

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Fine Arts (Gale One File)

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) supports research in topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.

Featured journals in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile):

American Drama

Coverage: 06/2002 to 06/2007, semiannual

American Theatre

Coverage: 01/1992 to current, monthly, includes images

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 03/2001) to current, semiannual
Moving Wall: 1 year

Comparative Drama

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 06/2001) to current quarterly

Early Theatre

Coverage: 01/1998 to currentt, semiannual, includes images

Indian Theatre Journal

Coverage: 04/2017 - 04/2019, semiannual, includes images

T D & T (Theatre, Design & Technology)

Coverage: 06/2011 to current, quarterly, includes images

Theatre Notebook

Coverage: 02/2006 to current, triannual, includes images
Moving Wall: 1 year

Theatre Symposium

Coverage: 0312007 (Image start date: 01/2009) to current (no issues during 2021), annual

What is a moving wall? The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in Gale OneFile and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in Gale OneFile shortly after publication.

Note: In calculating the moving wall, the current year is not counted.

For example, if the current year is 2023 and a journal has a 1-year moving wall, articles from the year 2021 are available.

IB Theatre - Research Presentation (first assessment 2024): Talchum mask dance, Korea

Resources for: Talchum mask dance, Korea

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Geographical Targeting in Google Searches

Videos for: Talchum mask dance, Korea

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: WSA Databases

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Fine Arts (Gale One File)