Elizabethan theatre, England

Book

Elizabethan Acting by Bertram Joseph
ISBN: 9780374944223
Publication Date: 1979-03-01
History of acting and theatre in England in the 16th Century. Reprint of the edition published by Oxford University Press, London, 1964. (Link to WorldCat.)

Articles

Elizabethan Acting
Harbage, Alfred. “Elizabethan Acting.” PMLA, vol. 54, no. 3, 1939, pp. 685–708. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/458479. Available on JSTOR.
Elizabethan Drama
Topic overview. An introduction to Elizabethan drama, providing a glossary of important terms, and discussion of early acting companies, regulation of the plays, London and the first theaters, playwrights, and genres (comedies, history plays, tragedies, and romances). Includes a list of related books and websites for further reading. Elizabethan World Reference Library, edited by Sonia G. Benson and Jennifer York Stock, vol. 1: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 163-179. Gale eBooks,
Elizabethan Drama
Topic overview, with brief biographies of representative authors, discussions of representative works, and critical essays. Literary Movements for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Literary Movements, edited by Ira Mark Milne, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Gale, 2009, pp. 153-184. Gale eBooks.
Elizabethan Dramatic Conventions and Elizabethan Reality
A discussion of the discrepancy in Elizabethan drama between what the characters are and what they do. Author: Robert R. Hellenga. Renaissance Drama, vol. 12, 1981, pp. 27–49. JSTOR.

Website

10 Exciting Elizabethan Theatre Techniques
Article on ten Elizabethan Theatre Techniques: Soliloquy, Aside, Boys Performing Female Roles, Masque, Eavesdropping, Presentational Acting Style, Dialogue, Play Within A Play, Stagecraft, and Modern Variations. Includes two videos. By Justin Cash, updated October 29, 2022.

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Geographical Targeting in Google Searches

A wig artist perfects the wig on Jonathan Slinger for the character Richard II before a performance of Richard II in the make up room of the Courtyard Theatre on February 27, 2008 in Stratford-Upon Avon, England - Britannica ImageQuest The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) assigns two-letter codes for country-coded top-level domains in Internet addresses. (See link to full country code list below.) These codes follow the ISO 2-alpha codes assigned by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) under its standard ISO 3166 in nearly all cases.

To do a targeted search for websites from a certain country: type in site:, followed by the two-letter IANA country code before your search term

Sample search for websites from the United Kingdom with information on Elizabethan theatre: site:uk elizabethan theatre

Internet Country Codes - Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA)
List of two-letter country codes designating Internet domains, along with other codes (generic, generic-restricted, infrastructure-related, and sponsored).

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: WSA Databases

EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Need an authoritative source on your world theatre tradition? Search EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection! This database contains thousands of eBook titles and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Coverage in eBook content is 1963 to the present.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) supports research in topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.SEE THE BOX BELOW for a list of publications in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) with articles on theatre and drama.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Gale eBooks for reference sources on topics in the arts, history, literature, multicultural studies, religion, social sciences, and more. Search specific terms related to your world theatre tradition.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the "Images" tab to look for images related to your world theatre tradition. JSTOR now holds the entire image collection of Artstor! The default "All content" tab searches both JSTOR's collection of full-text scholarly articles and open access eBooks, along with the image collections.

Videos for: Elizabethan theatre, England

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Fine Arts (Gale One File)

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) supports research in topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.

Featured journals in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile):

American Drama

Coverage: 06/2002 to 06/2007, semiannual

American Theatre

Coverage: 01/1992 to current, monthly, includes images

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 03/2001) to current, semiannual
Moving Wall: 1 year

Comparative Drama

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 06/2001) to current quarterly

Early Theatre

Coverage: 01/1998 to currentt, semiannual, includes images

Indian Theatre Journal

Coverage: 04/2017 - 04/2019, semiannual, includes images

T D & T (Theatre, Design & Technology)

Coverage: 06/2011 to current, quarterly, includes images

Theatre Notebook

Coverage: 02/2006 to current, triannual, includes images
Moving Wall: 1 year

Theatre Symposium

Coverage: 0312007 (Image start date: 01/2009) to current (no issues during 2021), annual

What is a moving wall? The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in Gale OneFile and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in Gale OneFile shortly after publication.

Note: In calculating the moving wall, the current year is not counted.

For example, if the current year is 2023 and a journal has a 1-year moving wall, articles from the year 2021 are available.

IB Theatre - Research Presentation (first assessment 2024): Elizabethan theatre, England