Kecak, Indonesia - IB Theatre - Research Presentation (first assessment 2024)

Resources for: Kecak, Indonesia

Book

Balinese Dance, Drama and Music: A Guide to the Performing Arts of Bali by I. Wayan Dibia; Rucina Ballinger; Barbara Anello (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9789625931951
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Bali has long been known for its deep spirituality and extraordinary artistic heritage. The dances, dramas, puppetry and music of Bali are more than icons for the island; they are part and parcel of life - as expressions of devotion to the gods, as entertainment, and as a way of instilling cultural values on each generation. (Link is to WorldCat.)

Article

Dance - Bali
Topic overview. Discussion of the various dance forms of Bali, including Jeroan dances, one of which is the kecak - a modern offshoot of sanghyang developed in the 1930s, which uses the chanting of traditional sanghyang as an accompaniment to theatrical dance using stories from the Ramayana epic. Includes list of sources for further reading. Author: Tim Byard-Jones. Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, edited by Karen Christensen and David Levinson, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002, pp. 234-235. Gale eBooks.

Websites

Indonesia, The Twentieth Century, Kecak
An overview of Indonesian culture during the 20th century including Kecak. This page is part of Asian Traditional Theatre and Dance, ISBN 978-952-7218-23-5, © 2018, a dissertation published by the Theatre Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki.
A Brief History Of Dance Kecak (Bali)
A history of the kecak dance, accompanied by photographs. Presented by the Indonesia Culture blog.

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Geographical Targeting in Google Searches

Princess Sita and performers of the Kecak Dance, Bali, Indonesia - Britannica ImageQuest The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) assigns two-letter codes for country-coded top-level domains in Internet addresses. (See link to full country code list below.) These codes follow the ISO 2-alpha codes assigned by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) under its standard ISO 3166 in nearly all cases.

To do a targeted search for websites from a certain country: type in site:, followed by the two-letter IANA country code before your search term

Sample search for websites from Indonesia with information on Kecak: site:id kecak

Internet Country Codes - Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA)
List of two-letter country codes designating Internet domains, along with other codes (generic, generic-restricted, infrastructure-related, and sponsored).

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: WSA Databases

EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Need an authoritative source on your world theatre tradition? Search EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection! This database contains thousands of eBook titles and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Coverage in eBook content is 1963 to the present.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) supports research in topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.SEE THE BOX BELOW for a list of publications in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) with articles on theatre and drama.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Gale eBooks for reference sources on topics in the arts, history, literature, multicultural studies, religion, social sciences, and more. Search specific terms related to your world theatre tradition.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the "Images" tab to look for images related to your world theatre tradition. JSTOR now holds the entire image collection of Artstor! The default "All content" tab searches both JSTOR's collection of full-text scholarly articles and open access eBooks, along with the image collections.

Video and Audio for: Kecak, Indonesia

Ketjak: The Ramayana Monkey Chant
Link to MP3 sound file of Ketjak: The Ramayana Monkey Chant, 20:11. "Performed by more than 200 men seated in tight concentric circles around a small central space reserved for the chief protagonists," the ketjak (loosely called "Monkey Chant") was first recorded in Bali by David Lewiston and released by Nonesuch Records in 1969. As a spectacular and alternative performance mode, it has had a germinal influence on Western performance and poetics since then. Presented by Ubuweb Ethnopoetics.

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Fine Arts (Gale One File)

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) supports research in topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.

Featured journals in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile):

American Drama

Coverage: 06/2002 to 06/2007, semiannual

American Theatre

Coverage: 01/1992 to current, monthly, includes images

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 03/2001) to current, semiannual
Moving Wall: 1 year

Comparative Drama

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 06/2001) to current quarterly

Early Theatre

Coverage: 01/1998 to currentt, semiannual, includes images

Indian Theatre Journal

Coverage: 04/2017 - 04/2019, semiannual, includes images

T D & T (Theatre, Design & Technology)

Coverage: 06/2011 to current, quarterly, includes images

Theatre Notebook

Coverage: 02/2006 to current, triannual, includes images
Moving Wall: 1 year

Theatre Symposium

Coverage: 0312007 (Image start date: 01/2009) to current (no issues during 2021), annual

What is a moving wall? The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in Gale OneFile and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in Gale OneFile shortly after publication.

Note: In calculating the moving wall, the current year is not counted.

For example, if the current year is 2023 and a journal has a 1-year moving wall, articles from the year 2021 are available.

IB Theatre - Research Presentation (first assessment 2024): Kecak, Indonesia

Resources for: Kecak, Indonesia

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Geographical Targeting in Google Searches

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: WSA Databases

Video and Audio for: Kecak, Indonesia

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Fine Arts (Gale One File)