This guide lists the types of databases available through the West Sound Academy Library, along with a description of each type. Each box also includes a list of WSA online resources having that specific type of database. Above the list of database types is a guide to ways to access these resources.
Definitions are from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz, presented by ABC-CLIO LLC. Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com
Questions? Email Susan Trower.
Login only required when off campus: Most of West Sound Academy's databases have IP authentication, meaning that no login is required when accessing them while on campus. Use the library ID or username and password provided by the librarian for remote access.
See below for databases that do not follow this model.
Login always required: Some databases require users to always login with a username and password, both while working at WSA and when off campus.
Databases that always require users to login: Churchill Archive, Digital Theatre Plus, Learn360, ScienceDirect, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law, The Seattle Times, Yabla French, and Yabla Spanish.
No login required (Open Access): Some databases or research portals do not require users to login and are freely available to the public.
Databases that do not require users to login: Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources, Gallica, The JSTOR Understanding Series, and Semantic Scholar. Note: The JSTOR Understanding Series provides free access to the literary works, but WSA students and staff will need to log in to JSTOR using their WSA email addresses in order to see the articles and eBook chapters linked to those works.
Access only on campus: Some subscription databases only permit use by IP authentication, so they can only be used while on the West Sound Academy campus.
Databases that can only be used while on campus: AncestryK12, Fold3, Newspapers.com
Login with Google: Some databases that require logging in with credentials have been set up with Google SSO (Single Sign On). West Sound Academy staff and students can login using their WSA Google email addresses.
Databases that use Google SSO: Artstor, Digital Theatre Plus, EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, Global Plants, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, JSTOR, Learn360, ScienceDirect, Timelines, World Book Advanced, World Book Discover, World Book Students.
Article: A self-contained nonfiction prose composition on a fairly narrow topic or subject, written by one or more authors and published under a separate title in a collection or periodical containing other works of the same form. The length of a periodical article is often a clue to the type of publication--magazine articles are generally less than five pages long; scholarly journal articles, longer than five pages. Also, journal articles often include a brief abstract of the content.
Note: WSA databases provide only full-text articles. The exceptions are Historical Abstracts with Full Text, JSTOR, and ScienceDirect. With these databases, some articles will show an abstract and citation, but not the full text. For these, contact the librarian to see about obtaining the article through an Inter Library Loan (ILL).
Databases with articles: Academic OneFile, Artstor, Business OneFile, Business: Entrepreneurship, Business Insights: Global, Churchill Archive, Communications and Mass Media (Gale Onefile), Computer Science (Gale OneFile, Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile), Digital Theatre Plus, Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile), Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile), Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile), Fine Arts (Gale OneFile), Gale Health and Wellness, Gale in Context: College, Gale in Context: High School, Gale in Context: Middle School, Gale Literature, Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Power Search, Gallica, Gender Studies (Gale OneFile), General OneFile, Global Issues (Gale in Context), Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile), Historical Abstracts with Full Text, Informe Académico, JSTOR, The JSTOR Understanding Series, Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile), Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile), Science (Gale in Context), ScienceDirect, Semantic Scholar, U.S. History (Gale OneFile), Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile), War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile), World History (Gale OneFile).
Audio: The audio downloads available on WSA databases are data files containing recorded sound. These are available for users to listen to online, or download over the Internet for transmission to your computer.
Databases with audio: Churchill Archive, Digital Theatre Plus, Gale Health and Wellness, Gale in Context: College, Gale in Context: High School, Gale in Context: Middle School, Gale Power Search, Gallica, Learn 360, and Science (Gale in Context).
Biography: A carefully researched, relatively full narrative account of the life of a specific person or closely related group of people, written by another. The biographer selects the most interesting and important events with the intention of elucidating the character and personality of the biographee and placing the subject's life in social, cultural, and historical context. Biographical works in databases will vary in length, from relativity short summaries to longer, multi-page accounts.
Databases with biographies: Churchill Archive, EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, Gale eBooks, Gale in Context: College, Gale in Context: High School, Gale in Context: Middle School, Gale Literature, Gale Power Search, and Global Issues (Gale in Context).
Conference Paper: An original paper presented by the author(s) at a formal gathering of peers, usually at the invitation of the group or organization sponsoring the conference, which may be subsequently published in its proceedings. In the sciences, ground-breaking research results are often publicly introduced in such presentations.
Databases with conference papers: Global Issues (Gale in Context), Historical Abstracts with Full Text, ScienceDirect
Data: The plural of the Latin word datum, meaning "what is given," often used as a singular collective noun. Facts, figures, or instructions presented in a form that can be comprehended, interpreted, and communicated by a human being or processed by a computer. A data set (or dataset) is a logically meaningful collection or grouping of similar or related data, usually assembled as a matter of record or for research.
Databases with data: Business Insights: Global Issues (Gale in Context), Science (Gale in Context), ScienceDirect.
Dictionary: A single-volume or multivolume reference work containing brief explanatory entries for terms and topics related to a specific subject or field of inquiry, usually arranged alphabetically. The entries in a dictionary are usually shorter than those contained in an encyclopedia on the same subject. A language dictionary lists the words of a language in alphabetical order, giving orthography, syllabication, pronunciation, etymology, definition, and standard usage. Databases offer online versions of various types of dictionaries.
Databases with dictionaries: Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, World Book Student, Yabla French, Yabla Spanish
eBook: A digital version of a traditional print book designed to be read on a personal computer or e-book reader. WSA databases usually allow for downloading of sections or chapters of books, occasionally with publisher limits on the number of pages that can be saved in this way. Synonymous with digital book, electronic book, e-book, ebook, and online book.
Databases with eBooks: Drama Online, EBSCO eBook Academic Collection,Gale eBooks, Gale Power Search, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, JSTOR, The JSTOR Understanding Series, Science Direct, World Book Advanced, World Book Discover, World Book Students.
Encyclopedia: A book or numbered set of books containing authoritative summary information about a variety of topics in the form of short essays, usually arranged alphabetically by headword or classified in some manner. An entry may be signed or unsigned, with or without illustration or a list of references for further reading. Headwords and text are usually revised periodically for publication in a new edition. In a multivolume encyclopedia, any indexes are usually located at the end of the last volume. Encyclopedias may be general (example: World Book Advanced) or specialized, usually by subject (Encyclopedia of Comic Books and Graphic Novels or Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, both in Gale eBooks) or discipline ( Gale Encyclopedia of Journalism, in EBSCO eBook Academic Collection).
Databases with encyclopedias: EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, Gale eBooks, Gale Power Search, World Book Advanced, World Book Discover, World Book Student.
Government Information: Government documents are publications of the U.S. federal government, including transcripts of hearings and the text of bills, resolutions, statutes, reports, charters, treaties, periodicals (example: Monthly Labor Review), statistics (U.S. Census), etc. The category also includes publications of other governmental bodies (state, local, territorial, foreign).
Databases with government information: Ancestry K12, Black Freedom Struggle in the United States, Fold3, and Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law.
Image: A visual impression of something real or imagined. An image is a two-dimensional visual representation large enough to be easily viewed without magnification, usually rendered in black and white or color on a flat, opaque surface. The term includes paintings, drawings, art prints, photographs, reproductions, illustrations, clippings of pictorial matter, etc., and is often used in a generic sense when a more specific word is inappropriate. An image database is a searchable collection of pictures, photographs, and/or art images in digital format, available for use free-of-charge or upon payment of a fee, usually by licensing agreement. Artstor and Britannica ImageQuest are examples of subscription image databases.
Databases with images: Ancestry K12, Artstor, Britannica ImageQuest, Fold3, Gale Health and Wellness, Gale in Context: College, Gale in Context: High School, Gale in Context: Middle School, Gale Power Search, Gallica, Global Plants, News (Gale OneFile), Science (Gale in Context), Timelines, World Book Advanced, World Book Discover, World Book Student.
Map: Any two-dimensional graphic representation of the physical features (natural or man-made) of all or a portion of the surface of the earth or another celestial body, the heavens, or an imaginary geographic area, normally done to scale on a flat medium using a specified projection, with an indication of orientation, but increasingly in digital form.
Databases with maps: Churchill Archive, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, Gallica, World Book Advanced, World Book Discover, World Book Student.
Newsmagazine: A general interest magazine devoted to the publication of news and editorial comment, usually on a wide range of subjects, from politics to entertainment (examples: U.S. News & World Report and Maclean's in Canada). Most newsmagazines are published weekly and sold at newsstands, in bookstores, and by subscription. Some are available in an online version (examples: Bloomberg Businessweek and Time Online Edition)
Newspaper: A serial publication, usually printed on newsprint and issued daily, on certain days of the week, or weekly, containing news, editorial comment, regular columns, letters to the editor, cartoons, advertising, and other items of current and often local interest to a general readership.
News story: An article published in a newspaper, newsmagazine, or online news service, reporting the details of a current event or the latest information on a topic of general interest. News stories are usually short and often unattributed.
Databases with news: Business (Gale OneFile), Business Insights: Global, Computer Science (Gale OneFile), Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile), Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile), Gale Health and Wellness, Gale in Context: College, Gale in Context: High School, Gale in Context: Middle School, Gale Power Search, Gallica, General OneFile, News (Gale OneFile), Newspapers.com, Science (Gale in Context). The Seattle Times. and World Book Advanced.
Primary source: In scholarship, a document or record containing firsthand information or original data on a topic, used in preparing a derivative work. Primary sources include original manuscripts, periodical articles reporting original research or thought, diaries, memoirs, letters, journals, photographs, drawings, posters, film footage, sheet music, songs, interviews, government documents, public records, eyewitness accounts, newspaper clippings, etc.
Databases with Primary sources: Academic OneFile, Ancestry K12, Artstor, Black Freedom Struggle in the United States, Britannica ImageQuest, Churchill Archive, Digital Theatre Plus, Fold3, Gale eBooks, Gale in Context: College, Gale in Context: High School, Gale in Context: Middle School, Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature: LitFinder, Gale Power Search, Global Plants, The JSTOR Understanding Series, Learn360, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law, The Seattle Times, and World Book Advanced.
Reference book: A book designed to be consulted when authoritative information is needed, rather than read cover to cover. Reference books often consist of a series of signed or unsigned "entries" listed alphabetically under headwords or headings, or in some other arrangement (classified, numeric, etc.). The category includes almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, biographical sources, catalogs, concordances, dictionaries, directories, discographies and filmographies, encyclopedias, glossaries, handbooks, indexes, manuals, research guides, union lists, yearbooks, etc., whether published commercially or as government documents. Long reference works may be issued in multivolume sets, with any indexes in the last volume.
Databases with Reference Material: EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale Onefile), Gale eBooks, Gale Health and Wellness, Gale Power Search, Global Plants, World Book Advanced, World Book Discover, and World Book Students.
Some of West Sound Academy's databases offer video on demand or embedded video clips.
Video on demand: A service that allows video content to be searched, selected, and viewed as desired (rather than pre-programmed), either by streaming for viewing in real time or by downloading digitally from a remote server to an external device such as a personal computer for viewing at any time.
Video clip: A short section of a longer filmed work, used in a broadcast or incorporated into another work such as a Web page, usually to give the viewer a brief impression of the whole.
Databases with video: Churchill Archive, Digital Theatre Plus, Drama Online, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, Gale Health and Wellness, Gale in Context: College, Gale in Context: High School, Gale in Context: Middle School, Gale Power Search, Learn360, MASSOLIT, News (Gale OneFile), Science (Gale in Context), Timelines, World Book Discover, World Book Student, Yabla French, and Yabla Spanish.
|
|
|