Jatra, Bangladesh - IB Theatre - Research Presentation (first assessment 2024)

Resources for: Jatra, Bangladesh

Books

Acinpakhi Infinity: Indigenous Theatre of Bangladesh by Saicyada Jamila Ahameda
ISBN: 9789840514625
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Book on the history of theatre in Bangladesh. Physical description: xiv, 375 pages, 32 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color), maps. (Link is to WorldCat.)
Bengali Theatre by Kironmoy Raha
ISBN: 9788123706498
Publication Date: 2001
History, criticism, and interpretation of Bengali drama. India, the Land and the People series. (Link is to WorldCat.)

Academic article

Jatra: The popular traditional theatre of Bengal
Sarkar, Pabitra. “JATRA: THE POPULAR TRADITIONAL THEATRE OF BENGAL.” Journal of South Asian Literature, vol. 10, no. 2/4, 1975, pp. 87–107. JSTOR.

Website

Jatras - Fiery Dramas Mesmerizing Dialogues
"Jatra today is a big industry in West Bengal with an annual turnover of several crores. The fee for each show for more than a hundred Jatra companies in Chitpur(Calcutta) varies between Rs 5000/-and Rs.30,000/- per day. The average audience strength per performance could be anything from 5000 to 20,000 people depending upon the particular Jatra and the reputation of the company." History of Jatras and contemporary theatre companies performing this traditional folk form.

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Geographical Targeting in Google Searches

An open air opera or 'Jatra', staged by Rajdhani Opera group, at Banaripara, Barisal, Bangladesh - Britannica ImageQuest The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) assigns two-letter codes for country-coded top-level domains in Internet addresses. (See link to full country code list below.) These codes follow the ISO 2-alpha codes assigned by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) under its standard ISO 3166 in nearly all cases.

To do a targeted search for websites from a certain country: type in site:, followed by the two-letter IANA country code before your search term

Sample search for websites from Bangladesh with information on Jatra: site:bd jatra

Internet Country Codes - Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA)
List of two-letter country codes designating Internet domains, along with other codes (generic, generic-restricted, infrastructure-related, and sponsored).

Videos for: Jatra, Bangladesh

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: WSA Databases

EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Need an authoritative source on your world theatre tradition? Search EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection! This database contains thousands of eBook titles and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Coverage in eBook content is 1963 to the present.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) supports research in topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.SEE THE BOX BELOW for a list of publications in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) with articles on theatre and drama.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Gale eBooks for reference sources on topics in the arts, history, literature, multicultural studies, religion, social sciences, and more. Search specific terms related to your world theatre tradition.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the "Images" tab to look for images related to your world theatre tradition. JSTOR now holds the entire image collection of Artstor! The default "All content" tab searches both JSTOR's collection of full-text scholarly articles and open access eBooks, along with the image collections.

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Fine Arts (Gale One File)

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) supports research in topics in architecture, art, dance, film, music, and theatre, covering a broad range of styles, periods and movements.

Featured journals in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile):

American Drama

Coverage: 06/2002 to 06/2007, semiannual

American Theatre

Coverage: 01/1992 to current, monthly, includes images

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 03/2001) to current, semiannual
Moving Wall: 1 year

Comparative Drama

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 06/2001) to current quarterly

Early Theatre

Coverage: 01/1998 to currentt, semiannual, includes images

Indian Theatre Journal

Coverage: 04/2017 - 04/2019, semiannual, includes images

T D & T (Theatre, Design & Technology)

Coverage: 06/2011 to current, quarterly, includes images

Theatre Notebook

Coverage: 02/2006 to current, triannual, includes images
Moving Wall: 1 year

Theatre Symposium

Coverage: 0312007 (Image start date: 01/2009) to current (no issues during 2021), annual

What is a moving wall? The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in Gale OneFile and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in Gale OneFile shortly after publication.

Note: In calculating the moving wall, the current year is not counted.

For example, if the current year is 2023 and a journal has a 1-year moving wall, articles from the year 2021 are available.

IB Theatre - Research Presentation (first assessment 2024): Jatra, Bangladesh

Resources for: Jatra, Bangladesh

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Geographical Targeting in Google Searches

Videos for: Jatra, Bangladesh

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: WSA Databases

OTHER PLACES TO RESEARCH: Fine Arts (Gale One File)