For more help, see Tips for Citing Newspaper Articles below, and explainers on how to tell the difference between Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers.
| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper [City of Publication if not stated in newspaper title], Day Month Year of Publication, pp. Page Numbers if given. Database Name. Note: If you are citing an opinion or editorial piece, add the following at the end of your citation: Op-ed. Note: If the article pages are not in consecutive order, list the first page number of the article followed by a plus (+) sign. Examples: One Author Lee, Justina. “Crypto Pros are Getting Tired of $79-Billion Dogecoin Joke; Unlike Bitcoin, Supply Isn't Finite.” National Post [Toronto], 8 May 2021, p. FP16. Canadian Major Dailies. Two Authors Tait, Carrie, and James Keller. "Spiraling Cases Push Hospitals to the Limit." The Globe and Mail [Toronto], 8 May 2021, p. A6. ABI/INFORM. Three or More Authors Thebault, Reis, et al. "Sorrow and Stamina, Defiance and Despair: A Year of the Pandemic in America." Washington Post, 11 Mar. 2021. Gale OneFile News. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Name Page Number) Note: If the article is only a single page or do not have page numbers, exclude the page number in the in-text citation. Examples: (Lee) (Tait and Keller) (Thebault et al.) |
For more help, see Tips for Citing Newspaper Articles below, and explainers on how to tell the difference between Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers.
| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper [City of Publication if not stated in newspaper title], Day Month Year of Publication, URL. Note: If you are citing an opinion or editorial piece, add the following at the end of your citation: Op-ed. Examples: One Author Deschamps, Tara. "Companies Offer Vaccinated Customers Freebies and Discounts in Marketing Push." Toronto Star, 9 May 2021, www.thestar.com/business/2021/05/09/companies-offer-vaccinated-customers-freebies-and-discounts-in-marketing-push.html. Two Authors Hayley, Austin, and Jack Ewing. "The Tailor, the Florist, the Violin Maker: Improvising to Survive." The New York Times, 10 May 2021, www.nytimes.com/2021/05/07/business/coronavirus-hamburg-germany-small-businesses.html. Three or More Authors Bhattacharya, Jhumpa, et al. “Open Forum: Having Kids is Becoming a White Privilege in California.” San Francisco Chronicle, 10 May 2021, www.sfchronicle.com/opinion/article/Open-Forum-Having-kids-is-becoming-a-white-16162934.php. Op-ed. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Name) Examples: (Kieffer) (Hauck and Hecht) (Bhattacharya et al.) |
For more help, see Tips for Citing Newspaper Articles below, and explainers on how to tell the difference between Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers.
| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper [City of Publication if not stated in newspaper title], Day Month Year of Publication, pp. Page Numbers if given. Database Name. Note: If you are citing an opinion or editorial piece, add the following at the end of your citation: Op-ed. Note: If the article pages are not in consecutive order, list the first page number of the article followed by a plus (+) sign. Example: Kay, Barbara. “'Problematic' Prose; in the Progressive Era, Even Literary Critics Aren't Safe.” National Post [Toronto], 27 Mar. 2021, p. A18. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Name Page Number if multi-page article) Note: If the article is only a single page, exclude the page number in the in-text citation. Example: (Kay) |
Not sure whether your article is from a newspaper? Look for these characteristics:
Not sure whether your article is from a magazine? Look for these characteristics:
Popular magazines:
Trade magazines:
Articles may also come from journals or newspapers.
Photo from Flickr under Creative Commons license, created by the.Firebottle
Not sure whether your article is from a journal? Look for these characteristics:
Articles may also come from magazines or newspapers.
For all content found on the Web, you must list the date you first viewed the resource. This comes last in a citation.
An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.
If the name of the city in which the newspaper is published is not evident from the title of the newspaper then provide the city in square brackets after the title of the newspaper.
E.g., When citing the Toronto Star, it is evident that the newspaper is published in Toronto. However, if citing The Gazette, it is not evident from the title that it is published in Montreal, so include [Montreal] after writing The Gazette.
The name of the database will usually apear at the top of the search screen. Note that Elsevier, Gale and EBSCOhost are NOT database names, they are database providers. The name of the database will appear separately.
If you have used the function to search multiple databases at once and therefore do not know the individual database name, enter the name of the database provider (e.g. ProQuest) as the database.
The format of all dates is: Date Month (shortened) Year. E.g. 5 Sept. 2012.
If no date is listed, write n.d.
If no page number is listed, write n. pag. in the Works Cited list.
If the entire article is only one page, do not include a page number in the in-text citation.
If the article appears on non-consecutive pages (e.g., the article starts on page 5 then continues on page 12), write the first page number and a plus (+) sign. E.g., 5+
Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an.
If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).
|
|
|