For more help, see Tips for Citing Journal Articles below, and explainers on how to tell the difference between Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers.
| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date, pp. Page Numbers. Database Name, doi link if given. Note: If you are using a pdf version of the article, add the following at the end of your citation: PDF download. Examples: One Author Kieffer, Alexandra. “The Debussyist Ear: Listening, Representation, and French Musical Modernism.” 19th-Century Music, vol. 39, no. 1, summer 2015, pp. 56-79. JSTOR. Two Authors Hauck, Pia, and Heiko Hecht. “Having a Drink with Tchaikovsky: The Crossmodal Influence of Background Music on the Taste of Beverages.” Multisensory Research, vol. 32, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 1–24. Academic Search Premier, https://doi.org/10.1163/22134808-20181321. Three or More Authors Meacham, Shuaib James, et al. “Hip‐Hop Early Literacy in K–1 Classrooms.” The Reading Teacher, vol. 73, no. 1, July/August 2019, pp. 29–37. Wiley Online Library Journals, https://doi.org/10.1002/trtr.1809. PDF download. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Name Page Number) Examples: (Kieffer 59) (Hauck and Hecht 21) (Meacham et al. 32) |
For more help, see Tips for Citing Journal Articles below, and explainers on how to tell the difference between Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers.
| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date, pp. Page Numbers. doi link. Note: If you are using a pdf version of the article, add the following at the end of your citation: PDF download. Example: Hauck, Pia, and Heiko Hecht. “Having a Drink with Tchaikovsky: The Crossmodal Influence of Background Music on the Taste of Beverages.” Multisensory Research, vol. 32, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 1–24. https://doi.org/10.1163/22134808-20181321. PDF download. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Names Page Number) Example: (Hauck and Hecht 21) |
| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date, pp. Page Numbers if given. URL. Example: Narayanan, Nirupama, and Robin Sturtz. "Success in the STEM Curricula." College Quarterly, vol. 21, no. 2, 2018. collegequarterly.ca/2018-vol21-num02-spring/index.html. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Name Page Number if given) Examples: (Narayanan and Sturtz) |
For more help, see Tips for Citing Journal Articles below, and explainers on how to tell the difference between Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers.
| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date, pp. Page Numbers. Example: Hauck, Pia, and Heiko Hecht. “Having a Drink with Tchaikovsky: The Crossmodal Influence of Background Music on the Taste of Beverages.” Multisensory Research, vol. 32, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 1–24. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Name Page Number) Example: (Hauck and Hecht 21) |
Photo from Flickr under Creative Commons license, created by the.Firebottle
Not sure whether your article is from a journal? Look for these characteristics:
Articles may also come from magazines or newspapers.
Not sure whether your article is from a magazine? Look for these characteristics:
Popular magazines:
Trade magazines:
Articles may also come from journals or newspapers.
Not sure whether your article is from a newspaper? Look for these characteristics:
Articles may also come from journals or magazines.
For all content found on a website that is subject to change, you must list the date you first viewed the resource. You do not need to include access date for items from library databases. This date is listed at the end of the citation with the word "Accessed" before the date.
An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.
Leave out author distinctions/credentials, such as PhD.
The name of the database will usually apear at the top of the search screen. Note that Elsevier, Gale and EBSCOhost are NOT database names, they are database providers. The name of the database will appear separately.
If you have used the function to search multiple databases at once and therefore do not know the individual database name, enter the name of the database provider (e.g. ProQuest) as the database.
The format of all dates is: Date Month (shortened) Year. E.g., 5 Sept. 2012.
Some electronic content like journal articles are assigned a unique number called a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). The DOI gives a way to find an article. If a DOI is provided for a journal article, include it after the page numbers of the article as "doi:doi number".
If no DOI number is given, the recommendation would be that you do not use the URL of the article coming from a database as the link will not work properly. (URL access to database articles requires users to be authenticated using username and password.)
If there are multiple pages put pp. before the page numbers. If the article is only one page use p. instead.
If the article appears on non-consecutive pages (e.g., the article starts on page 5 then continues on page 12), write the first page number and a plus (+) sign. E.g., 5+
Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an.
If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).
|
|
|