NoodleTools How-to Guide: How to Import a Source Citation from a Database

Overview

A number of library subscription services work with NoodleTools to provide a direct citation export option. We work closely with each of these database vendors to customize our import based on what metadata they have available for each article, to produce the best citation possible given the data they have.

Instructions

Database vendors that currently provide an "Export to NoodleTools" option (links are to database-specific how-to instructions):

• ABC-CLIO
• Credo Reference
• EBSCO (WSA: EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection;Historical Abstracts with Full Text)
• FactCite
• Gale (WSA: Academic OneFile, Gale eBooks, Gale OneFile, Gale in Context, and others)
• HeinOnline (WSA: Civil Rights and Social Justice; Slavery in America and the World)
• Infobase (WSA: Learn360)
• JSTOR (WSA: JSTOR and Global Plants)
• NewsBank
• ProQuest
• Rosen Publishing

Note: If the database you are using is not yet in this list, keep in mind you can also use the QuickCite feature to copy and paste the database's preformatted citation into NoodleTools, if your school's NoodleTools administrator has that option enabled.

Overview

When you've located an article in a Gale database that you want to use in your research, use Gale's export feature to generate your citation in NoodleTools (and then double-check all the data!).

Step 1.

In one browser tab, open the NoodleTools project you are working on and navigate to the Sources screen.

Step 2.

In a second browser tab, open Gale's database and navigate to the article you wish to cite.

Step 3.

Click Cite at the top of the article.

Step 4.

Choose "NoodleTools" from the "Export to" dropdown and click the Export button.

Note: The citation style of the example displayed in the database does not matter -- the citation style will match the style of the NoodleTools project you are importing into.

Step 5.

A new browser tab opens displaying the citation that will be imported into your NoodleTools project (check your pop-up blocker settings if this window does not open). Before you continue, verify that the project selected under "Import" is correct.

Step 6.

Click the Import references button. At the top of the page, look for a green confirmation, "1 reference successfully exported to project..."

Step 7.

Close the "View/Import Sources" tab and return to the tab containing your NoodleTools project. Reload the Sources screen to view your imported citation. You'll notice that a note is added below the citation, "This reference was exported from the database."