LibGuides: Extended Essay: Databases and Websites by Subject Area

Where to Search When ...

"I need to do research in a specific discipline."

Countries or Unrepresented Territories
Health
Humanities - English and History
Languages
Law and Legislation
Medicine and Natural Science
Mythology and Religion
Official Government Information
Philosophy and Psychology
Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM)
Visual and Performing Arts

Countries or Unrepresented Territories

WSA Databases with information on countries and unrepresented territories

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a searchable online general reference collection that includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.

Websites with information on countries and unrepresented territories

CIA World Factbook
Provides provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Unrepresented Peoples and Nations Organization (UPNO)
Provides information on the 40 different member nations/peoples of UNPO: flag, statistics, an overview, historical background, current issues, and human rights violations.

Health

WSA databases with reliable health information

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a searchable online general reference collection that includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) to find articles from nursing and allied health journals. Covers topics such as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs and more.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science (Gale in Context) provides information on hundreds of significant science topics, and includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites

Websites with reliable health information

Mayo Clinic
Source of reliable information on: diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements. Presented by the Mayo Clinic, based in Rochester, Minnesota.
Medline Plus
Find information on health, wellness, disorders and conditions, and drugs and supplements. The site also has health and surgery videos, and a Medical Encyclopedia with articles and images for diseases, symptoms, tests, treatments. Presented by NIH (National Institute of Health) / U.S. National Library of Medicine.
NIH U.S. National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain.

Humanities - English and History

Archives Hub
Allows searching across descriptions of archives held at over 250 colleges and universities across the United Kingdom. Within the collections represented on the Hub there is a huge diversity of content, from the archives of industries, institutions and researchers to the letters and manuscripts of writers and poets.
ELDIS
Information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues, with summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents,organized into collections according to key development themes and the country or region they relate to.
Institute of Historical Research
Links to digital resources related to British and Irish history.

UK Data Archive
Provides access to the United Kingdom's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences and humanities.
Voice of the Shuttle
Links to resources related to all areas of the humanities, including English, literature, history, literary theory, and music, emphasizing both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources

World Trade Organization (WTO)
Provides access to the official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as to a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos. You can also find the “legal texts” — the body of WTO agreements that collectively form the legal framework of the WTO.

Artstor

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the guide below to find content related to languages and literature on Artstor. Their collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates. When using Artstor on the WSA campus, register for a free user account. Your account allows you to access the Digital Library while off-campus. You can download images, create and share image groups, and more.

These documents have links to websites for researching literature or history topics.

Databases and Resources for History Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Links to useful websites for researching history, including the UW Libraries History Subject Guide, Best of History Websites, a primer on how to frame a researchable question, and digital collections at the Washington State Library related to regional history. Rev. 07/23/2021
Literature Selection Websites
Links to websites related to literature genres (poetry and fiction), including links to awards, such as the Bollinger Prize for Poetry, National Book Foundation, the Nobel Prize in Literature, and the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction, Poetry, and Drama. Also includes links to the Man Booker, Man Booker International, and the Rea Award for Short Stories.

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)

WSA databases with information on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)

Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Science (Gale in Context) provides information on hundreds of significant science topics.
- What's included?
  It includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- How do I cite it?
  Look for the Export button on the right. Choose Direct Export to NoodleTools, and import the citation directly to your open NoodleTools project. If you choose to copy and paste it instead, be sure to grab the "Permalink" as well, and put that in the URL box underneath the quick cite box in NoodleTools.

Websites with information on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)

Chemweb
Register for free at this site that provides access to selected full text articles from Chemistry publishers such as Wiley, Elsevier and Springer. Members can download a selection of articles covering a broad range of topics direct from the pages of some of the most respected journals in chemistry.
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets.

Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web. If your query is too broad, you can use search engine operators like site: and - to further tailor your search.Filter your search results by 'Last Updated' (in the last month, year, or 3 years), 'Download Format' (table, text, image, or other download formats), 'Usage Rights', 'Topic', or 'Free' (whether the data set is free to use). Datasets can be saved. Once you follow the link of a dataset to an external site, you can explore and download the data, cite it, and share it with others.
iCrank
Mechanical engineering resources, including design apps and links to engineering sites.
Math Forum
Links to websites and documents on many topics in pure mathematics (algebra, calculus, geometry, etc.) and mathematics as used in life and physical science (astrology, biology, chemistry, computer science, and physics) and social science (economics, population, political science.)
National Agricultural Library
The National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (NALDC) offers rich searching, browsing and retrieval of digital materials and collections, including historical publications, U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) research, and more.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
Provides high quality online resources in the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. Search by grade level, subject (STEM) and resource format. Users need to register with the site to download and save resources.
Physics.org
Database of over 4,000 physics websites; all sites have been checked for accuracy and sorted into suitability for different age groups and levels of knowledge.
more...less...
Sponsored by the Institute of Physics in the UK.
Physics World
The member magazine of the Institute of Physics, freely accessible to the public.
SciCentral
Collects and ranks breaking science news, using only content that's freely accessible to online readers. Sources are chosen based on reliability, timeliness of information, extent of coverage, multidisciplinary coverage, and leads to follow-up information.
Science.gov - Your Gateway to U.S. Federal Science
The portal offers free access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies. Users can search over 60 databases, over 2,200 websites, and over 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information in many formats, including full-text documents, citations, scientific data supporting federally funded research, and multimedia.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Library
Access to geoscience print and online information sources, as well as instruction on finding and using the geoscience information from the largest earth science library in the world! Highlights include: maps, reports, imagery, datasets, and applications.

Languages

iLoveLanguages
Links to language-related resources, including dictionaries, free translation, language identification, signed languages, and language lessons. Resources are also organized by specific language - from Aboriginal Languages to Zarma!

Artstor

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the guide below to find content related to languages and literature on Artstor. Their collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates. When using Artstor on the WSA campus, register for a free user account. Your account allows you to access the Digital Library while off-campus. You can download images, create and share image groups, and more.

Law and Legislation

A Century of Lawmaking
Congressional documents from the first 100 years of the U.S. Congress (1774-1875), part of the Library of Congress American Memory collection.
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information, providing access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
FindLaw
Search cases and codes (U.S. federal and state), news and commentary on the FindLaw site for legal professionals. Use the link to the 'Consumer Site' to learn about the law, ask questions related to many topics in business, consumer, and criminal law, and to access legal forms.
Free Law Online
Links to databases and websites that provide legal information and materials (including laws, bills, constitutions, court opinions, and related documents) and/or links to legal material. Covers Washington State, U.S. Federal Governement, other states, and foreign countries.
more...less...
From the Gallagher Library at the University of Washington Law School,
Legal Information Institute (LII)
Search or browse extensive collection of worldwide legal information, and research their Wex Legal Encyclopedia which includes hundreds of definitions and explanations of legal topics. Presented by Cornell University Law School.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
Search this database of U.S. state legislatures, Washington D.C. and U.S. territories for home pages, bills, press rooms, statutes, and more.

Medicine and Natural Science

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the guide below to find content related to medicine and natural sciences on Artstor. Their collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates. When using Artstor on the WSA campus, register for a free user account. Your account allows you to access the Digital Library while off-campus. You can download images, create and share image groups, and more.

Mythology and Religion

A sub-collection of ebooks from WSA's Gale Virtual Reference Library related to world religions and mythology.

World Religions - GVRL Sub-collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WSA's collection of Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks covering world religions and mythology.
more...less...
Access off-campus requires Library ID.
Encyclopedia Mythica
Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania. The Folklore section contains general folklore, Arthurian legends, and fascinating folktales from around the world. Also contains a bestiary, a section on legendary heroes, an image gallery, and genealogical tables of various pantheons and prominent houses.
New Testament Web Resources
Directory of academic internet resources on the New Testament and Christian origins. Links include portrayals of Jesus in film and an online classical Greek language course. The ‘Judaica’ section also has links to Old testament resources such as the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Apocrypha.

Official Government Information

Access Washington
Portal to government information about Washington State: links to websites for popular services and government agencies in Washington (State, Tribal, and Federal),
GOV.UK
Find links to websites of all UK government departments and many other agencies and public bodies. Users can search all policies, announcements, publications, statistics and consultations of the UK.
USA.gov
Search official U.S. government information and services by topic: A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies; Government Benefits, Grants, and Loans; Housing and Community; Jobs and Unemployment; Money and Shopping; Travel and Immigration; Voting and Elections, and more.

Philosophy and Psychology

Philosophy around the web
Links to philosophy resources online, organized by topic, individual philosopher, and other categories. Last updated in 2005.
Psych Web
Links to scholarly information about various topics in psychology, and links to college psychology departments, self-help sites, and psychological brochures.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. PLEASE NOTE: You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in their Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite).

Visual and Performing Arts

British Film Institute (BFI) Screenonline
Resources on Great Britain's film and television history, Film and television resources are organized by genres and themes, industry and audiences, places, films or programs by decade, and a timeline.
Moving Image Gateway
Links to over 1,800 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas in the arts and humanities, biology and medicine, science and technology, and the social sciences.
more...less...
A project of the British Universities Film & Video Council.
VADS: the online resource for visual arts
VADS is an online portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research. Resources include documentary photography, textiles, posters, furniture, fashion, graphic design, and collections from many museums.

Get Help

The librarian is always happy to help you!

In Person - during library hours,
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m., Monday - Friday

Or Request an appointment

By Phone - during library hours

By Email - Susan Trower