LibGuides: Art Resources: Home

Finding Art Resources

The resources on this page including WSA databases and art websites that can be used for research in art and art history. See:

Artstor Digital Library - Database URL, Quick Guide, & Video Tutorial
Artstor Across Disciplines
Britannica ImageQuest
Europeana Collections
Gale eBooks
General Art Websites
Smarthistory.org - Art History

And...a video tutorial on citing everything you find in NoodleTools:

Citing Works of Art, Photographs, and Images in NoodleTools

See other pages in this section to learn about:

Articles from Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
Books
Images
Videos
Museum Resources
Other Online Resources for Art
Book Arts

For information on copyright, see:

Copyright and Image Use in the Artstor Digital Library

Britannica ImageQuest

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Britannica ImageQuest has high quality images that you can use in school projects.
- What's included?
  It contains detailed company and industry profiles, thousands of company histories and industry essays, and case studies, scholarly journals, and business news.
- How do I cite it?
  In NoodleTools, choose Database, then Photo or Illustration. Click the Cite tab below the image, select a citation style, then copy the citation provided.

Britannica ImageQuest Getting Started Guide
Guide to using Britannica ImageQuest's collections of millions of images that are rights-cleared for educational use. Login or register for your own personal account to access images in “My Images” later on any device.Topics covered in the tour include: Searching (how to search, browse, narrow results, and display images), Image Details (copyright information, captions, credits, citations, and how to select and add multiple images), Saving Images, and Organizing Images.

General Art Websites

Below are a few resources that may help with introductory information:

Art cyclopedia: The Fine Art Search Engine
A resource with 9,000 artists listed, 2,900 art sites indexed, and 160,000 links. The main mode of searching within the site is a search on an artist's name.

e-flux
The e-flux site includes a news digest, events, exhibitions, schools, journal, books, and art projects related to contemporary art, culture, and theory internationally. Search the archive to look at past issues of the e-flux journal for essays relating to the creation of contemporary art.
Glossary of art terms - Tate
Browse Tate's online glossary which is designed to explain and illuminate some of the art terminology you will find on the Tate website, from abstract art to Zero. Tate has four major sites and holds the national collection of British art from 1500 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art, which includes nearly 70,000 artworks.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks - Art ebooks
A group of ebooks on topics in the arts in Gale eBooks. Titles include Arts & Humanities Through the Eras; Encyclopedia of World Biography; Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages, and Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film.
more...less...
Remote access requires Library ID password.

Gale eBooks Database Pointers - Purdue University Library

Smarthistory

What is Smarthistory?
Smarthistory is a center for public art history with thousands of free videos and essays written by experts who want to share their knowledge with learners around the world. Smarthistory was founded in 2005 by two art historians, Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker.

Who uses Smarthistory?
Millions of people use Smarthistory every year, including undergraduate and graduate students, museum visitors, life-long learners, and university professors.

How can I find the art I want to learn about?
Use the search box or the Histories of Art pull down menu at the top of every page. You can also use the left navigation once you are on a content page. Have fun exploring!

How can I cite Smarthistory?
A citation is provided at the bottom of every Smarthistory content page.

Smarthistory
Smarthistory is a center for public art history, with thousands of free and CC licensed videos and essays written by experts who want to share their knowledge with learners around the world.

Quick Links

A-Z Database List
Links to all of WSA's subscription databases.
Google login
Login to access your WSA email and Google Docs
Grammarly
Check for grammatical errors and avoid plagiarism
NoodleTools Login
Login to access tools for note-taking, outlining, and citation.
PlagiarismCheck.org Login
Check your writing for unintended plagiarism

Artstor Digital Library - Database URL, Quick Guide, & Video Tutorial

Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Artstor is an online database of more than 2.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
- What's included?
  With Artstor you can zoom in on and pan images as well as print, save and organize them.
- How do I cite it?
  Click the ‘CITE THIS ITEM’ button to the right of the image, choose either the MLA or Chicago citation, then click the ‘Copy to Clipboard’ button. In NoodleTools, choose Database, then Photo or Illustration (or Reference Article, as appropriate), then use the Quick Cite option to paste in the citation. The image URL will be in the citation.

Getting Started in Artstor Digital Library
Directions for accessing Artstor, with tips for searching, organizing content with groups and tags, sharing with links, printing, and downloading individual images or an entire PowerPoint. Links in the PDF go to specific help pages in Artstor.

Personal Collections in Artstor

Personal collections are available to all registered users. Personal Collections are a private storage spot for registered users to upload and manage content that can mingle with Artstor content.

How to mix your own images with Artstor's in two simple steps:

From the main page menu bar, choose Organize > Upload images to Personal Collection
Browse or select the files you want to upload; when they've finished loading click Done

That's not all — you can now edit the data, save it to a new or existing image group, print it, create a citation, and download it; learn how on Artstor's support site.

Supported file types: .png (with alpha transparency), .jpg, .jpeg, .tif, .tiff, .jp2 / jpeg 2000, .cr2, .gif, .psd, .ai, .bmp, .eps, .nef, .svg, multi-page tiffs

File size upload recommendations: keep uploads under 20GB

Storage limits: personal collection storage is limited to 1 GB per user and 100 GB per institution

Artstor Across Disciplines

Guides to Artstor content related to specific disciplines in the visual and performing arts:

Architecture in Artstor
This page highlights Artstor content related to architecture and man-made habitats and infrastructures, including monuments, buildings and their interiors, land and cityscapes, as well as our corresponding incursions on the natural environment. Designs are presented in plans, drawings, and models, and structures are recorded in archival and contemporary photographs and 360-degree virtual reality panoramas.
Decorative Arts in Artstor
This page highlights Artstor content related to western and non-western decorative arts, including a varied selection of images of furniture, interiors, tableware, textiles, ceramics, and silver.
Fashion and Costume in Artstor
This page highlights Artstor content related to fashion and costume, including images of historical fashion, costumes, designers, and fashion shows.
Music History in Artstor
This page highlights Artstor content related to world music throughout the ages, including images of musical scores, composers, performers, instruments, and venues such as concert halls and opera houses, as well as examples of musical iconography.
Photography in Artstor
This page highlights Artstor content related to the history of photography, including works by significant photographers chronicling people, events, and places of our time, as well as images documenting the development of landmark processes and technologies, from early daguerreotypes to contemporary prints.
Theater and Dance in Artstor
This page highlights Artstor content related to theater and dance, including images of costumes, venues, and staged performances from around the world, as well as portraits and performance shots of notable playwrights, theater directors, choreographers, set and costume designers, actors, and dancers.

Europeana | Europe's Digital Collections

Europeana - Europe's Digital Collections
Explore over 58 million artworks, artifacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives. Their search and filter tools can help you find what you’re looking for. They have dedicated thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I, each with galleries, blogs and exhibitions.

Citing Works of Art, Photographs, and Images in NoodleTools

Watch this tutorial to learn how to use NoodleTools to cite images in art: photographs or illustrations, "born digital" images like logos or graphics, or works of visual art.

Tutorial created by Susan Timmons, Upper School Librarian, The Harpeth Hall School, Ann Scott Carell Library, Nashville, Tennessee, September 5, 2018, using Screencast-O-Matic.