Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Why search here?
    WSA Library has a trial to American National Biography Online through December 22, 2021. Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.

  • What's included?
    It features thousands of illustrations, and tens of thousands of hyperlinked cross-references and links to other (select) websites and multimedia content.

  • How do I cite it?
    Click the pencil (Cite) icon in the top right, then copy the Chicago or MLA citation into NoodleTools.
  • Why search here?
    Drama Online gives you access to play texts and a selection of filmed performances of the Royal National Theatre in London.

  • What's included?
    It contains the Core and Critical Studies Collection (with full text of over 1,700 plays and over 400 related academic ebooks from Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare) and the National Theatre Collection of filmed performances.

  • How do I cite it?
    This database doesn't supply citations. In NoodleTools, choose Database, then determine what you are looking at and do your best when filling out the form. A play text would be cited like a Book. Other examples: Reference Source; Film or Video Recording.
  • Why search here?
    WSA Library has a trial of FactCite databases through October 31, 2021. Two of these databases, Defining Moments in U.S. History and Milestone Documents, both have primary source documents required for history research. The Countries & Cultures database has information on countries and different regions of the world.

  • What's included?
    Defining Moments in U.S. History has topic units; each unit has a detailed overview, primary sources, related biographies, a glossary of people, places and terms, research topics and resources. Milestone Documents has over 1,500 documents in U.S. and world history. Countries & Cultures has introductory information on each country, along with sections on different topic (geography, government, history, and more) and an extensive Sources & Further Study section.

  • How do I cite it?
    Scroll to the bottom of each article to find a preformatted MLA citation, which can be exported directly to NoodleTools. FactCite does not provide Chicago citations.
  • Why search here?
    WSA Library has a trial to Grove Art Online through December 22, 2021. Grove Art Online is a scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day.

  • What's included?
    It includes 30,000 peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.

  • How do I cite it?
    Click the pencil (Cite) icon in the top right, then copy the Chicago or MLA citation into NoodleTools.
  • Why search here?
    WSA Library has a trial to Grove Music Online through December 22, 2021. Grove Music Online is a scholarly music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

  • What's included?
    It includes articles offering clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective as well as biographical articles with life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers, and other important musical figures. Also featured are images, musical examples, and links to audio and video examples.

  • How do I cite it?
    Click the pencil (Cite) icon in the top right, then copy the Chicago or MLA citation into NoodleTools.
  • Why search here?
    WSA Library has a trial to Oxford English Dictionary Online through December 22, 2021. The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online is an historical dictionary, focusing not only on the meanings and pronunciations of words, but also on the history of those words, and how their meanings have changed over time.

  • What's included?
    The OED Online traces the history of the English language through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookbooks. Also includes an Historical Thesaurus.

  • How do I cite it?
    Click the pencil (Cite) icon in the top right, then copy the Chicago or MLA citation into NoodleTools.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian