Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Artist's Books Online
An online repository of facsimiles, metadata, and criticism. The site displays artists' books, exhibits, essays, and links to other collections or resource materials. There is an index of agents (authors, publishers, binders, printers etc. of books and works represented), titles (of works, books, and sometimes objects), contributors (authors of essays, exhibits, commentary), and of collections and other resources.
Artists' Book Collection
This database is an illustrated, descriptive index to the Artists’ Book Collection, located in the Kohler Art Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Presently, the Artists’ Book Collection contains over 800 titles. The database indexes approximately 760 of those titles, over 500 of which have one to four images to visually represent the structure and/or content of the book.
Book Arts Web
The site features links to a large selection of book-arts-related sites on the web, including educational opportunities, professional organizations, tutorials, reference materials, and galleries with images.
Free Online Journals
A peer-reviewed e-journal for book artists and book binders, published from 2004 through 2012. Each issue can be downloaded as a PDF. In addition to scholarly articles on book art topics, this resource also contains helpful instructions for making different types of books and bookbinding.
A comprehensive online quarterly covering the arena of artists’ books, art books and other multiple editions, including audio and new media. Umbrella’s reviews cover new bookworks by artists, exhibitions, with special sections that focus on photographic and art books.
Books in the WSA Library
Essential Guide to Making Handmade Books by
Call Number: 686.3 Fox
Publication Date: 2000-08-15
An introductory guide to handmade books that describes materials and techniques and provides step-by-step instructions for eleven projects, plus photos of several other project ideas; includes a list of suppliers.
Expressive Handmade Books by
Call Number: 686.3 Gol
Publication Date: 2006-01-28
A guide to creating handmade books, featuring ideas and instructions for twenty-five projects, each based on a different theme, and including discussion of tools, materials, and techniques.
Making Books by Hand: a Step-By-Step Guide by
Call Number: 686.3 McC
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Text and color illustrations present detailed instructions for making accordion art books, journals, scrapbooks, photo albums, box books, and scrolls.