It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Resources: Home
Help with finding the primary sources you need for your research, evaluating those sources, and citing them in your paper's bibliography.
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of eBook titles covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Coverage in eBook content is 1963 to the present.
Off-site access requires a special user ID and password.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1953. Users can search by time period.
Historical reference material spanning ancient times through today's current events, with study units on over 500 history topics, reference works, images, video, KnowledgeNotes™ topic guides, and articles from academic journals.. Primary sources include historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips.
An electronic journal collection providing access to abstracts and/or full-text searching for academic journals, ebooks and primary sources, covering a wide range of subject areas in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
ProQuest has articles from over 3,900 scholarly journals along with articles from trade publications, and magazines covering a wide range of subjects, most in full-text. Searches can be limited to full-text and/or peer-reviewed.
Expansive coverage of STEM subjects (Science, Technology, Engineering, Medicine), with access to 2,200 academic journals and 26,000 ebooks; archive of articles goes back to 1995. Users can download PDFs of articles, and can export references, citations, and abstracts.
Allows searching across descriptions of archives held at over 250 colleges and universities across the United Kingdom. Within the collections represented on the Hub there is a huge diversity of content, from the archives of industries, institutions and researchers to the letters and manuscripts of writers and poets.
Information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues, with summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents,organized into collections according to key development themes and the country or region they relate to.
Provides access to the official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as to a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos. You can also find the “legal texts” — the body of WTO agreements that collectively form the legal framework of the WTO.
This document has links to websites for researching history topics.
Links to useful websites for researching history, including the UW Libraries History Subject Guide, Best of History Websites, a primer on how to frame a researchable question, links to history timelines (both American and international), and digital collections at the Washington State Library related to regional history.
Databases with Primary Sources
General Resources for Research in All Subject Areas
Covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Primary sources include historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips.
Full-text articles from trade publications, many western newspapers, and several national publications, including the Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, the New York Times, and the Washington Post.
Multimeda resource on all subject areas with links to primary sources. Each search on a topic brings up three tabs: Article; Images, Video and Audio; and Related Information. Go to the Related Information tab to find links to primary sources for that topic..
Scholarly, popular and contemporary commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals of the work of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and scriptwriters, covering 20th Century literature and literature from 1400-1800.
Primary sources related to poetry, prose, and drama from around the world include interviews and contemporary reviews from over 100 literary magazines and journals. Poets on Screen features videos of poets reading their own work.
Access to the original and primary documents of the US collection of Ancestry.com, including US Census records, US Indian tribal Census rolls, immigration and travel records, photos, military records, and much more.
Includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, amassed by Winston S. Churchill throughout his life, ranging from his personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.
JSTOR has millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa (focusing on the complext and varied liberation struggles in the region), and World Heritage Sites: Africa (with visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites).
A collection of all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world along with many primary source materials (speeches, traveler's accounts, letters, sermons, and more.) Click the database name under 'Browse' to use the Slavery Quick Finder Tool to search based on these criteria: (1) Position on slavery (pro, anti-, or no position); (2) Jurisdiction (both US and international locations); (3) Document Type; and (4) Topic.