Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World Biography and Newsmaker Encyclopedias - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of World Biography, 35 vols. by
Publication Date: 2015-07-10
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography, 10 vols.
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
Features biographies of notable historic and current figures from American history, world history, literature, science and math, arts and entertainment, and the social sciences. Entries focus on the people most often studied in middle and high school.
UXL Newsmakers by
Publication Date: 2004-11-12
Covers prominent personalities active on the current scene, including people making headlines in all fields. Entries include biographical profiles, career summaries and other facts.
Authors, Poets and Playwrights - Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks
Concise Major 21st-Century Writers by
Publication Date: 2006-07-28
A comprehensive, five-volume set, Concise Major 21st-Century Writers profiles today's most outstanding and widely known writers. Clearly written in an easy-to-use format, it collects detailed biographical and bibliographical information on approximately 700 authors who are most often studied in college and high school.
Publication Date: 2000-10-10
Concise discussions of the lives and principal works of contemporary novelists, written by subject experts.
Contemporary Poets by
Publication Date: 2000-09-28
Concise discussions of the lives and principal works of poets from around the world, written by subject experts.
Filmmakers - Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers, 5706 pp. 4 vols. by
Publication Date: 2000-12-12
Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs. General
Inventors and Scientists - Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, 27 vols. by
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Inventors and Inventions, 1600 pp. 5 vols. by
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Covers inventors of the past and present, including the creators of Kevlar, Coca Cola, eBay, and the Global Positioning System. Explores the early life of each inventor, their education and professional life, and their contributions to society. Surveys the history of technological advancements in fields such as agriculture, transportation, communication, entertainment, textiles, medicine, and others.
Musicians - Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, 4220 pp. 6 vols. by
Publication Date: 2000-12-22
Covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky. This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.
Psychologists - Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks
Psychologists and Their Theories for Students, 529 pp. 2 vols.
Publication Date: 2004-10-25
Perfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis.
US Presidents - Gale Virtual Reference Library ebook
The Presidents: A Reference History
Publication Date: 2002-08-16
Presents in-depth profiles of each American president and his administration. Includes black-and-white portraits of the presidents and extensive bibliographies. Also features a new history of the White House and a general introduction to the presidency.
Women - Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks
Women in World History by
Publication Date: 2002
Comprehensive 17-volume set. Covers women of historical interest worldwide, from around 3100 BCE to the modern age, from every walk of life-artists, pirates, scientists, athletes, philanthropists, adventurers, politicians, pacifists, saints, and courtesans, even those famous for just being famous. Individual, collective, and joint entries (i.e. Astronauts: Women in Space, Egyptian Feminism, Siege Warfare and Women, etc.) are included.
Search the WSA Library Catalog
Find books, digital resources (ebooks), WebPath Express websites, and Open Educational Resources (OER).