College 101: Recommended Reading for Families - Books

The author offers up key strategies for supporting your millennial as they enter this formative stage of their life: respect your child's independence while remaining engaged; assist your daughter or son if they are struggling or need to regroup; begin healthy and open conversations about the meaning of success; support good study habits as your child transitions to a new life on campus; remain thoughtful and empathetic as your child grows and changes. The book explores the causes of academic struggles, even among the best students at America's colleges and universities, and offers concrete ways to navigate back to success.

Updated and completely revised, this book is the ultimate family guide to managing a college search in a positive way. The coauthors, a college admissions officer and a high school guidance counselor, demystify the process of college admissions and bring sanity to what has become a source of great anxiety for families with college-bound kids. This book is rooted in experience from both sides of the college admission profession, and it provides valuable insight and practical tips about choosing and applying to schools. Includes bibliographical references and index.

A workbook that guides you—and your family—through a positive college admission experience. From building a balanced list of schools to research and visit to writing essays, preparing for interviews, and ultimately choosing a college to attend, the interactive exercises in this comprehensive workbook provide students with important questions to ask, information to consider, and the preparation they need to help them focus more on how they ultimately arrive on a college campus rather than precisely where their journey takes them. If done right, college counselor Brennan Barnard and undergraduate admission director Rick Clark demonstrate, college admission can be more like the college experience itself—an opportunity to grow, learn, discover, enjoy, and build close, lasting relationships.

A companion resource to The Truth about College Admission: A Family Guide to Getting In and Staying Together, each chapter in this guide is designed to help high school classes, small study groups, or individual students and their families focus on the most important questions to ask, steps to take, and conversations to have as they apply to college. Full of accurate information and experience-based insight, this workbook cuts out the noise and stress, instead encouraging students to reflect, research, and regain perspective.

Focusing on the what, the why, and the how of college selection for Black students and their families, the authors provide advice from both the high school and college admissions perspective of the process. This exceptional book addresses issues of race as they intersect with the choice of Historically Black Colleges and Universities or predominantly white institutions and explains the selective college admissions process for high-achieving students of color.

The second edition includes new chapters on prioritizing students' and parents' mental health, understanding the influence of artificial intelligence tools such as ChatGPT on college essay writing, reviewing recent Supreme Court decisions about race-conscious admission and their likely impact on Black applicants, and navigating the admission process as a transfer applicant.

This manual for parents about the college search process is packed with details on how the process works, as well as practical suggestions for supporting young people in discerning their own best path along the road beyond high school. It addresses both function (what a student wants out of college) and finances as components of the ultimate individual goal of college fit.

Lieber addresses the knotty issue of what college is really worth when a flagship state university can cost more than $100,000 for four years of on-campus living and private colleges often charge much more. This book does more than answer the hard questions of college costs and values. It provides a view of the economics of the college search that is penetrating, detailed, and clear.

Written for parents and families of college-bound students, this book is the one tool they'll need to navigate the complex (and often emotional) challenge of getting their daughters or sons into--and through--college. From early childhood to setting up their dorm room, this book provides parents with insights, wisdom, and guidance about college (what it is and why it is a valuable experience), college preparation (including both academic and financial), and choosing a college (how to understand not only the process but also the right fit and value). Letters written by college and educational professionals, all with their own college-aged children, frame and illuminate each chapter. The letters offer advice about preparation for college gleaned from personal and professional experiences. Undergirded by research but informed by many years of experience, Dear Parents is designed to both engage and inform parents.

With chapters that repeat the theme of balance between the college-bound high school graduate and their parents, this book covers the important time after the college choice has been made through the first visits home. This anthology, whose contributors include student success coordinators at a variety of universities, provides advice for the whole family as they embark on the college years.

Contains listings for more than 1.5 million scholarship awards, explaining ways to get money for college based on career and academic goals, public service, extracurricular activity, talent, athletics, religion, and other criteria, and providing contact information, the purpose of the award, eligibility requirements, target applicants, minimum GPA, amount, number of awards, deadline, and how to apply.

Specifically addressing the practical side of paying less for college through mastery of the financial aid process, this new edition details college costs, the FAFSA and financial aid awards, money-saving advice, and communication about who pays and why. This book goes beyond the usual scholarship advice tailored to high achievers and provides checklists with specific action items for a variety of approaches to college affordability.