Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find yourself in a book!
Find book recommendations and instructions for required summer reading in the new
2021 Summer Reading Guide
Find What You Need
Direct link to WSA Library Catalog: (Click 'Log In' to go to your WSA Library account.)
These WSA databases have scholarly research in journal articles and ebooks.
What's a primary source? What's the difference between a primary, secondary and tertiary source? Where can I find primary sources on my topic online? Find answers to these questions in the Primary Sources Guide. Or search WSA's databases. See links below to databases that feature primary sources.
Primary Sources Guide
Links to primary sources, both online and in print, for researching Washington and Pacific Northwest history, American history, and world history
General Resources for Research in All Subject Areas
History Study Center
Covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Primary sources include historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips.
Online home of 500+ million pages of historical newspapers from over 12,200 publications from around the United States and more, covering the 1700s through the 2000s.
Full-text articles from trade publications, many western newspapers, and several national publications, including the Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, the New York Times, and the Washington Post.
World Book Advanced
Multimeda resource on all subject areas with links to primary sources. Each search on a topic brings up three tabs: Article; Images, Video and Audio; and Related Information. Go to the Related Information tab to find links to primary sources for that topic..
Images, Videos, and Audio
3.25 million rights-cleared images from 62 leading collections; each photo or illustration comes with the source, the copyright holder, caption, keywords, and complete citation information.
Learn360 has streaming video, audio, and other multimedia content. Primary sources include over 2,000 archival films and newsreels and an audio collection of important speeches in history.
Literature Criticism Online
Scholarly, popular and contemporary commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals of the work of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and scriptwriters, covering 20th Century literature and literature from 1400-1800.
ProQuest Learning: Literature
Primary sources related to poetry, prose, and drama from around the world include interviews and contemporary reviews from over 100 literary magazines and journals. Poets on Screen features videos of poets reading their own work.
General reference collection for middle school students. Primary sources include newspapers, historical maps, images, TV and radio transcripts, and audio/video files.
Middle School in Context
Reference resources for middle school students covering all subject areas. To find primary sources, go to 'Advanced Search' and the 'Content Type' drop-down menu, and select 'Primary Sources'.
Reference resources for middle school students covering all subject areas. Primary sources include newspapers and newswires, magazines, images, editorial cartoons and other historical documents.
Access to the original and primary documents of the US collection of Ancestry.com, including US Census records, US Indian tribal Census rolls, immigration and travel records, photos, military records, and much more.
Includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, amassed by Winston S. Churchill throughout his life, ranging from his personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.
US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who have served, covering the Revolutionary War through conflicts in modern times.
Database of plant type specimens, reference works, and primary sources (diaries, correspondence, illustrations, photographs) and a resource for research in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
JSTOR has millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa (focusing on the complext and varied liberation struggles in the region), and World Heritage Sites: Africa (with visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites).
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
A collection of all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world along with many primary source materials (speeches, traveler's accounts, letters, sermons, and more.) Click the database name under 'Browse' to use the Slavery Quick Finder Tool to search based on these criteria: (1) Position on slavery (pro, anti-, or no position); (2) Jurisdiction (both US and international locations); (3) Document Type; and (4) Topic.
Use these guides for help with creating citations and bibliographies for research papers.
Quick link to NoodleTools:
The librarian is always happy to help you!
In Person - during library hours,
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Or Request an appointment
Phone - (360) 598-5954
Email - Susan Trower
♦ Library books checked out to students have a checkout period of three weeks, but can be renewed.
♦ Literature books checked out to students are due at the end of the Mod in which they are being used in class.
♦ WSA textbooks that have been checked out to students are due at the end of Mod F: May 20, 2021.
♦ Online access: place holds and renewals online using your student or staff library user name and password
♦ Contact the librarian to obtain your library user name and password, or to get help with using WSA's library resources.
♦ Overdues: No fines charged for overdue materials.
♦ Lost or damaged materials: Cost for lost or damaged materials is the list price of the item plus a $15.00 handling fee.
♦ Replacement option: Families can replace a missing book with a new copy, in the same format, of the book that's been checked out by their student; a $5.00 fee will be charged to cover the time and materials involved in library processing.