Language Resources: Language Learning Tools

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available. Use the search box, or browse by language.

Study complete language courses for free with short, interactive lessons. Users only see exercises at the right level for them and can achieve certificates when they pass each level. Courses offered include: Spanish, Japanese, French, English, German, Dutch, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese, Polish, Turkish, Russian, Arabic, and Korean. A Chegg service.

The Digital Dialects website features free to use online games for learning languages. Language resources include games for learning phrases, numbers, useful words, spelling, verb conjugation and alphabets.

Courses are in English and 39 other languages. Duolingo courses effectively and efficiently teach reading, listening, and speaking skills. Form a habit of language learning, with game-like features, fun challenges, and reminders from their friendly mascot, Duo the owl.

Duolingo is the fun, free app for learning 40+ languages through quick, bite-sized lessons. Practice speaking, reading, listening, and writing to build your vocabulary and grammar skills.

The European Word Translator is a map and translation tool created by UK Data Explorer. Type a word or phrase into the map's search tool and the translations appear over the countries in their respective official languages.

Imendi helps people to learn basic vocabulary in world languages - Arabic, Czech, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. It uses a simple game where you pair meanings in selected languages.

A large collection of foreign language media materials. With an emphasis on less-commonly taught languages, LangMedia has a special mission to provide learners with examples of linguistic and cultural diversity worldwide.

Learn a Language has hundreds of free language-learning lessons, games and activities in 18 different languages. Owned and operated by Training City Ltd.

The 'Play & Learn' link has simple tutorials designed to teach young children or beginning learners the alphabet, numbers, shapes, and colors in English, French, German, Spanish, and Swedish. The 'Workbooks' link goes to pages on Amazon where users can purchase coloring books that are aligned with the lessons in 'Play & Learn'.

Surfacelanguages contains words, phrases and expressions in many different languages along with audio, flashcards and some language learning games. Surfacelanguages is a site celebrating the diversity of language and languages and the enjoyment of learning enough in many different languages rather than fluency in any particular one.

A collection of glossaries that can be used for accommodations for ELL students during testing or for instruction during the school year. Included are: English Language Arts (ELA) Glossaries; Math Glossaries; Science Glossaries; Social Studies Glossaries; Glossaries of Cognates; and Guides of Literary Terms & Devices for Language Arts. Presented by the NYS Statewide Language Regional Bilingual Education Resource Network and NYU, Steinhardt.

Free access to numerous dictionaries, a verb conjugator, and word forums in multiple languages: French, Italian, Portuguese, German, Dutch, Swedish, Icelandic, Russian, Polish, Romanian, Czech, Greek, Turkish, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Arabic.

Teaching materials for 25 different European, Asian, African, and Middle Eastern languages. The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) at the University of Minnesota, is one of the U.S. Department of Education's Title VI National Language Resource Centers, whose role is to improve the nation's capacity to teach and learn foreign languages effectively.

Eurozine is a network of European cultural journals, linking up more than 100 partner journals and associated magazines and institutions from nearly all European countries. Eurozine is also an online magazine which publishes outstanding articles from its partner journals with additional translations into one of the major European languages.

A French language thesauri from the Centre de recherches inter-langues sur la signification en contexte (CRISCO).

The French version of EHNE (Encyclopedia of European Digital History.) EHNE is a bilingual French/English digital history encyclopedia designed for researchers, students, teachers—anyone interested in history. Presented by the French Ministry of Education and Sorbonne Université. The over 700 articles are arranged by topic. Users can browse the articles within a topic, or browse an A-Z list of articles. Change to the English version by clicking the British flag icon at the top of the page on the right.

Links to classroom resources for teachers of the French language, including Canopé (French Ministry of Education platform for pedagogical materials); ARTE (European cultural and educational TV channel, including pedagogical resources); Radio France Internationale (RFI) (Excellent resources for French listening comprehension); IFcinema (an online French film database of over 500 movies exclusively for French educators); and more.

The Cultural Services are a division of the French Embassy in the United States. Its mission is to provide Americans (individuals and organizations) with access and resources to engage with French culture and promote it in their own communities.

With Deutsche Welle's mobile courses, you can learn German easily and free of charge. Whether you are a beginner or highly proficient, this is where you will find German courses. You can also learn German with the news or music - from level A1 to C1. For German teachers there are teaching materials and the latest on German language teaching.

Would you like to be able to post comments in German on TikTok and Instagram? Do you enjoy playing exciting online games? Or watching films in German? The Goethe-Institut has developed apps and games, made videos and chosen more than 100 films for children and teens. They also show fascinating experiments in their digital children's and junior university.

PONS offers an online dictionary, translator, vocabulary trainer and free apps in German/English and many other languages.

The Chicago Homer contains all the texts of Early Greek epic poems in the original Greek, alongside line-by-line English and German translations, Works include: The Iliad, The Odyssey, Theogony, Works and Days, Shield of Herakles, and Homeric Hymns. Click 'ENTER' then choose a text for display by clicking on any of the tabs at the bottom of the top frame. Fill in the appropriate book and line numbers and click the Retrieve button.

An e-thesaurus - the online edition of Dizionario dei Sinonimi e dei Contrari from Rizzoli Education. Hosted by Italy's newspaper of record, Il Corriere della Sera.

Il portal de RAI dedicate all scuola (The RAI portal dedicated to schools). This site has video files and activities from the Italian state broadcaster, Rai.

A website to help with learning Italian slang.

This site offers free streaming video, organized into categories (including sports, recipes, and shows). Presented by Clarín, Argentina's paper of record.

Weekly podcasts on various issues related to human rights, produced by the Spanish Chapter of Amnesty International with a Madrid-based association of community radio stations.

The site offers two English-Spanish dictionaries: the WordReference English-Spanish Dictionary and the Collins Spanish Dictionary. Also provided is an extensive Spanish verb conjugator.

Videos are organized by language level: Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced. Presented by Spanish Juice, a travel company based in Barcelona, Spain, specializing in travel experiences for young adults.

Learn about Puerto Rican history, organized in 21 topics, including a special section on the Puerto Rican Diaspora. Content is in Spanish. A project of la Fundación Puertorriqueña de las Humanidades and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Here you'll find thousands of audio clips, dictionary entries, images and illustrations, message boards, and a friendly world-wide community of folks who are interested in Thai language, culture, residency, and travel.