LibGuides: Professional Resources: Science

EdTechTeacher - Tech Tools for Science

Teaching Science with Technology
From virtual labs to computational tools, this site has links to dozens of options for integrating technology into the science curriculum, covering these subject areas: General Science Tools; Chemistry; Physics; Biology; Environmental & Earth Sciences; Space, Astronomy, & Astrophysics; Medicine & Nanoscienc;, and YouTube Channels & Apps. Curated by EdTechTeacher.com.

Khan Academy

Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard to allow learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Subjects covered include math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Parents and teachers can use the coach dashboard to get a summary of class performance as a whole as well as detailed student profiles.

Library of Congress Student Discovery Sets

Student Discovery Sets bring together historical artifacts and one-of-a-kind documents from the collections of the Library of Congress. Interactive tools let students zoom in, draw to highlight details, and conduct open-ended primary source analysis. Free downloads are available on iBooks for iPad, iPhone, and Mac. A Teacher's Guide with background information, teaching ideas, and additional resources is available for each set on the Library's website for teachers, loc.gov/teachers.

Scientific Data: Observing, Recording, and Communicating Information Student Discovery Set
How do scientists record and communicate their observations? Explore reports, maps, notes, letters, diagrams, sketches, and more from across the centuries. The book is available for download with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.
Understanding the Cosmos
For thousands of years, people tried to make sense of what they saw in the night sky. Some of them recorded their explanations in systematic ways—they created models of the cosmos. This set brings together maps, drawings, and diagrams that track changing ideas of the solar system and the universe from the middle ages to the twentieth century. Availbe for download on your Mac or iOS device.
Weather Forecasting
People have always looked for patterns in the weather, hoping to make accurate forecasts. Data charts, photographs, drawings, and newspaper articles document how weather forecasting has changed over the last three hundred years.

National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)

Connected Science Learning
Connected Science Learning is an online journal that highlights STEM education experiences that bridge the gap between in-school and out-of-school settings. It features articles about highly effective programs and shares research that connects preK–12 STEM learning in schools and out-of-school settings, specifically highlighting effective mechanisms for collaboration. Free access.
Freebies for Science Teachers
The name says it all! Find an array of free resources for you and your classroom. Clicking on the title takes you to the resource described.
NSTA's Science Store
Find free journal articles, chapters from books for professional reading, and more from NSTA - over 1,800 titles.
NSTA Recommends
Recommendations of science-teaching materials, from NSTA's review panel of science educators. Search by any combination of title/keyword, author, grade level, format, subject, or text in the reviews.
Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12
Every year a book review panel appointed by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC) select selected as outstanding children's and young adults science trade books appropriate for grades K-12. Books on the list cover traditional science content but also engineering and design.

Periodic Videos

Periodic Videos
This modern version of the periodic table charting all of the chemical elements has a short video about each one - all 118. Presented by the University of Nottingham.
Molecular Videos
The Molecular Videos collection covers a range of molecules and compounds, Presented by the University of Nottingham, supported by Aldrich Chemistry.

Pixar in a Box

PIxar in a Box
Pixar In A Box is a new online curriculum that analyzes how the studio fuses art, tech, science, engineering, and math to develop top-shelf animated cinema. Created with middle and high school students in mind but available to everyone, Pixar In A Box has interactive exercises, in-depth video lessons, and hands-on activities. The curriculum spans the pipeline of the production process: animation, character modeling, patterns, rigging, environment modeling, crowds, sets and staging, and rendering.
more...less...
A collaboration between Pixar Animation Studios and Khan Academy. Sponsored by Disney.

Science Apps

The Elements, by Theodore Gray
An in-depth app about the chemical elements. Users can rotate and manipulate any of the 500+ objects, and examine the images from all sides, and learn about the surprising examples for every element known to science.
The Elements in Action, by Theodore Gray
A collection of 79 videos that explores and explains what makes each element unique, giving demonstrations of their weird, wonderful, and sometimes alarming properties.
Molecules, by Theodore Gray
Experience what it’s like to touch, stretch and twist molecules, and discover how everything around us is made. Molecules combines rotational photography, captivating stories and scientifically accurate 3D simulations to explain everything you need to know about how the world is put together.

Books in the WSA Library

A Bee in a Cathedral by Joel Levy
Call Number: 500.02 Lev
ISBN: 9781554079599
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Uses familiar objects, actions, and relationships to explain complex scientific ideas through analogies.
A Dictionary of Science by Oxford University Press (Created by)
Call Number: 503 Dic
ISBN: 0192806416
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
Defines more than nine thousand alphabetically arranged scientific words and phrases, covering biology, earth science, chemistry, physics, and astronomy, and includes short biographies, chronologies of development, diagrams, and illustrations.
The Physics of Superheroes by James Kakalios
Call Number: 530 Kak
ISBN: 9781592405084
Publication Date: 2009-11-03
Explains physics principles by exploring the forces and motion of comic book superheroes, explaining basic rules of thermodynamics, energy, and solid state physics as it relates to real world experiences.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary by Stedman's Medical Dictionary Staff (Created by); Thomas Lathrop Stedman
Call Number: R 610.3 Ste
ISBN: 0781733901
Publication Date: 2005-12-06
Presents a collection of alphabetically arranged entries that provide definitions for over 107,000 terms related to the medical, pharmaceutical, and bioscience fields.
What We Believe but Cannot Prove by John Brockman
Call Number: 576.8 Wha
ISBN: 9780060841812
Publication Date: 2006-02-28
A series of essays by more than one hundred of the world's leading scholars who reveal what they believe despite a current lack of supporting evidence about such topics as the future of humankind, the fate of the universe, and extraterrestrial life.

Professional Resources: Science

On This Page