It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professional Resources: English
Tools, tips, readings, links, and more for teachers
Actively Learn is an online platform that allows students and teachers to interact with text. Over 3500 works are already included, delineated as English Language Arts (ELA), social studies, science, math or current events. In addition, teachers may upload content of their choosing. Teachers are able to select the content, distribute it to students through a class code, and later assign a grade. Questions, notes, ways to collaborate with others, text-to-speech, articles at different lexile levels, translation, and grading options add to the features currently available. Create classroom collections that can be shared among teachers, or upload current event articles and create questions of any type. Recommended for grades 5-12.
A site designed to help K-12 English and Language Arts teachers incorporate technology effectively into their classes. Free online resources covering these topics: Lessons & Activities; Commonly Taught Books; Presentations & Multimedia; Research & Writing; Assessments & Rubrics; Discussion & Collaboration; and iPads & Mobile Device Apps. Sponsored by EdTechTeacher.com.
Tween Tribune hosts high interest, reputable current events articles for K-12 audiences compiled by the Smithsonian. The articles are categorized by grade (5-6; 7-8; 9-12), lexile, language (English/Spanish), and subject area. Each article is available across multiple lexiles for differentiation and has an associated comprehension assessment. Free educator accounts offer a plethora of features: Monday morning newsletters, class and student profiles, lesson plans, article assignment capability, and assessment score grade books. Student privacy is protected, and all comments are educator-moderated. Use Tween Tribune to compare bias/viewpoints from varying sources, support or inspire inquiry, or as a station highlighting literary styles.
By Any Media Necessary
Using a wealth of authentic evidence from contemporary culture and social media, By Any Media Necessary: Mapping Youth and Participatory Politics examines how newly available channels foster civic imagination and political change. Together, the book companion*, curricular activities, resource toolkit, links to research, artifacts, and media library–that includes original media produced by activist groups–comprise a total online experience exploring new forms of political activities and identities that have emerged from the practices of participatory culture and are impacting how American youth think of their civic identities.
A resource for the teaching of civic engagement and media literacy; users can find: individuals, groups, and organizations engaged in participatory politics; provocations and discussion questions; curated activities; a digital media toolkit, a media library, and a glossary and links to related projects and curricula.
This MacArthur-funded Media, Activism, and Participatory Politics (MAPP) project, represents a collaboration among Henry Jenkins’ Media, Activism, and Participatory Politics project, Pivot.tv, and HitRECord.
Educators who want to include diverse voices in their classroom reading can use this model that offers a multi-dimensional approach to text selection that prioritizes critical literacy, cultural responsiveness and complexity. Presented by Teaching Tolerance, a project of the Southern Poverty Law Center.
A one-page questionnaire that helps users include diverse voices in their day-to-day planning by answering 14 simple yes-or-no questions. This tool is ideal for teachers on the go and anyone looking to assess a text’s diversity.
Users walk through the method Teaching Tolerance uses to identify readings for their K-12 anti-bias curriculum, Perspectives for a Diverse America. This edition gives users an in-depth look at the complexity and diversity of a text and is ideal for curriculum coordinators, literacy coaches, book selection committees and pre-service teachers.
An animated introduction to Jane Austen, from the School of Life. Jane Austen’s novels are so readable in part because she wasn’t an ordinary kind of novelist: she wanted her work to help us to be better and wiser people. Her novels had a philosophy of personal development at their heart.
An animated introduction to Virginia Woolf, from the School of Life. In her novels and essays, Virginia Woolf captured the intimate moments of the 20th century like no one else. She opens our eyes to the neglected value of daily experiences.
TeachingBooks.net provides original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, and a wealth of multimedia resources on K–12 books to support reading and library activities for all grades and content areas.
Extensive poetry resources, including core learning poems, articles for students and teachers, essays on poetic theory, a glossary of poetic terms, and links to general poetry sites, teacher-specific resources, single-poet archives, and audiovisual archives.
Teachers in all content areas who would like to integrate poetry into their instruction can sign up for 'Teach this Poem' - a free weekly email that features a poem along with instructional resources and ideas for activities related to the selection. The new poetry series, best suited for students in fourth through 12th grade, is provided by the Academy of American Poets.
Provides access to a comprehensive and reliable resource for terminology used in all types of libraries. Includes more than 4,000 terms from publishing, printing, literature, and computer science relevant to both library professionals and laypersons.
Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.
54 writing lesson plans tested at 826 writing labs across the country, ranging from goofy fun classes like "Writing for Pets," to more practical workshops like "College Application Essay Boot Camp." The lessons are organized by level: Elementary, Middle School, and High School.
Provides a comprehensive history of the short short story, from its early roots and early publications and appearances, to its current state and practice.Topics covered include: finding freedom and feeling in the form, beginnings and endings, imagery as inspiration, poetry versus prose, taking risks, focusing and editing, and the future of flash fiction.