Skip to main content

Professional Resources: Home

Tools, tips, readings, links, and more for teachers

Resources for Teachers

John Dewey,  (1859-1952), American philosopher, psychologist, and educator. Photographed in 1923.  Britannica ImageQuestWhile it is not the business of education … to teach every possible item of information, it is its business to cultivate deep-seated and effective habits of discriminating tested beliefs from mere assertions, guesses, and opinions.

          John Dewey, How We Think, 1909.

On this page:

International Baccalaureate
Independent School Organizations
Open Educational Resources
Open Education Resources / Amazon Inspire Beta
Participate Learning: Curating with Communities

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits sharing, accessing, repurposing—including for commercial purposes—and collaborating with others. They include educational materials, such as lesson plans, games, textbooks, tests, audio, and video. In addition to being free, these no-cost teaching and learning materials are available online for anyone to use, modify or share with others.

The collections listed below may be searched by different criteria including subject, grade level and common core alignment.

NOTE:  different levels of "openness" are represented. Many resources have a Creative Commons or other type of open license, while others are in the public domain. They fall into one of four categories:

  • View online only
  • Download by individual user
  • Download and share unaltered resource
  • Download, share, and edit resource

Be sure to check the license agreement on each resource to understand your level of permissions.

Open Educational Resources / Amazon Inspire Beta

Amazon InspireAmazon Inspire, with its features such as search, discovery and peer reviews, will provide educators access to upload and share free digital teaching resources.  In addition to teachers sharing innovative instructional resources, publishers and other content developers are contributing digital educational resources to Amazon Inspire, including the Newseum in Washington, D.C., the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, and the Folger Shakespeare Library. 

Amazon Inspire is in the beta stage and is ready for teachers to use and provide feedback.  Note: At the present time access to Amazon Inspire requires an invite. You can request one here.  (Click the 'Request Access' button and fill out the form.)

Amazon Inspire Features

  • Smart search — With smart search, teachers can explore resources by grade level or standard.  Educators can filter search results using more than 10 criteria to find great resources that best fit their needs.
  • Collections — Educators can group resources into collections. They can describe the collection, curate the resources in it, recommend an order for going through the resources and share the collection with other teachers.
  • Simple upload — Amazon Inspire offers an easy to use and intuitive upload interface. Educators can drag and drop files they want to share, add basic metadata such as title, description, grade and subject, and publish the content on the service, all in a few minutes.
  • Customer reviews — Teachers can rate and review resources on Amazon Inspire, helping their colleagues around the country select the best resources for their needs.
  • Accessibility support — Amazon Inspire has built in accessibility features. For example, educators can navigate Amazon Inspire using popular screen readers and users are also able to indicate the accessibility features of resources they upload.

Participate Learning: Curating with Communities

The Participate Learning search engine offers access to thousands of educator-vetted K12 learning resources–apps, videos, and websites - that can be accessed and downloaded from the Participate Learning platform.  Features include:

  • Expert reviews - judged by a rubric focusing on Educational Content and Function, Features and Production Value, and Engagement.  Reviews also provide examples of classroom use.  
  • Collections - Users can create and collaborate on collections, curated groups of educational resources around themes or topics or, perhaps, around the tools used for a particular discipline or a lesson to share with students, colleagues and parents.   The platform is very handy for staging content or tools to remember for later use.  Educators may add any digital resources and personal files to their collection, even if they are not in the ParticipateLearning search engine. 
  • ParticipateChat - a resource linking to twitter hashtags and live twitter chats. You can browse for live chats by date or browse an alphabetical list of hashtags to follow, with links to moderators, participants and feeds.

International Baccalaureate® (IB)

Independent School Organizations

News from NWAIS (Northwest Association of Independent Schools)
Loading

How do I get something put on this guide?

If you have a good article to include in this guide or if you have been to a good PD lately then share with the rest of the WSA faculty.  Email the documents or links or your 'Top Tips and Tricks'  to

strower@westsoundacademy.org

and they will be added.  Thanks!

Librarian

Susan Trower
Contact:
West Sound Academy
16571 Creative Drive NE
Poulsbo, WA 98370
360-598-5954
Website / Blog Page

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian