LibGuides: Chicago Citation Style (17th Edition): Ask for Help

Get Help

The librarian is always happy to help you!

In Person - during library hours,
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m., Monday - Friday

Or Request an appointment

By Phone - during library hours

By Email - Susan Trower

Learn More

Formatting of papers in Chicago Style:

Chicago Manual of Style (Notes and Bibliography) Sample Paper
A sample paper in Chicago Style, using the Notes and Bibliography system, with highlighting and notes in the margins explaining the various components. Presented by Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Chicago Style Sample Paper
A sample paper using the Chicago Style, with footnotes, page numbers, section headings, and bibliography, (NOTE: Footnote 13 uses Ibid. to denote that it is from the same source as Footnote 12. Chicago Style 17th edition discourages the use of Ibid. and requires writers to use shortened notes instead.) Presented by Montana State University Billings.

Citations and bibliographies in Chicago Style:

The Chicago Manual of Style Online:

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
A quick guide to the two basic documentation systems in the Chicago Manual of Style: (1) notes and bibliography (used in literature, history, and the arts) and (2) author-date (used in the physical, natural, and social sciences).
more...less...
Access to the Chicago-Style Quick Guide is free. Presented by The Chicago Manual of Style Online, a paid-subscription service.
Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations
Samples of the Notes and Bibliography system show the first note for a source (Full Citation) followed by subsequent notes for a source (Shortened Citation) along with the bibliography entry for the same source. Includes examples of citations for a: Book; Chapter or other part of an edited book; Translated book; E-book; Journal article; News or magazine article; Book review; Interview; Thesis or dissertation; Website content; Social media content; and Personal communication.
more...less...
Access to this section of The Chicago Manual of Style Online is free. Hyperlinked content requires a login to their subscription service.

Online guides from university libraries:

Chicago Citation Style QuickGuide: Notes-Bibliography System
Use the notes-bibliography system to create footnotes or endnotes for specific citations and a bibliography at the end of your
work, arranged in alphabetical order, that provides full details about your sources. The examples in this QuickGuide from the University of Alberta Libraries based on The Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition, 2017).
Chicago Style Guidelines
Basic guidelines for following the Chicago citation format, with guidance on margins, spacing, notes, bibliography, page numbering and section headings. NOTE: students writing Extended Essays should have their title page follow IB guidelines (Title, Research Question, IB Extended Essay Subject or World Studies Extended Essay theme and IB subjects.)
Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) - Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
Information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation, with links to specific examples for citing books, periodicals, web sources, film and television, interviews, personal communication, lectures and presentations, and published and unpublished materials.

Quick Links

A-Z Database List
Links to all of WSA's subscription databases.
Google login
Login to access your WSA email and Google Docs
Grammarly
Check for grammatical errors and avoid plagiarism
NoodleTools Login
Login to access tools for note-taking, outlining, and citation.
PlagiarismCheck.org Login
Check your writing for unintended plagiarism

Circulation Information and Library Policies

Circulation Information

♦ Books and DVDs: can be checked out for 3 weeks
♦ Reference materials: can be checked out for 1 class period or overnight
♦ Online access: place holds and renewals online using your student or staff library user name and password
♦ Contact the librarian to obtain your library user name and password, or to get help with using WSA's library resources.

Library Policies

♦ Overdues: no fines charged for overdue materials
♦ Lost or damaged materials: cost for lost or damaged materials is the list price of the item plus a $25.00 handling fee
♦ Replacement option: Families can replace a missing book with a new copy, in the same format, of the book that's been checked out by their student; a $10.00 fee will be charged to cover the time and materials involved in library processing