| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name if given. "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, edited by First Name Last Name if given, Edition ed. if not first edition, vol. Number if given, Publisher if given, Year of Publication, pp. Page Numbers if given. Database Name, doi if given. Example: "Macao." World Encyclopedia, Phlip's, 2004. Oxford Reference, https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780199546091.001.0001. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Name), or if no author ("Title of Encyclopedia Entry") Example: (("Macao") Note: If you're referring to a specific part of a song, include the time stamp after the artist's last name: (Artist's Last Name or Group Name time stamp) |
| Works Cited List Citation |
Author's Last Name, First Name if given. "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, edited by First Name Last Name if given, Sponsoring Organization if given, Year of Publication, URL. Accessed Day Month Year viewed (optional, add if there is no upload/publication date). Example: Gwiazda, Emily. "Hide Hyodo Shimizu." The Canadian Encyclopedia, Historica Canada, 15 Mar. 2019, www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/hide-hyodo-shimizu. |
| In-Text Citation |
(Last Name), or if no author ("Title of Encyclopedia Entry") Example: ((Gwiazda) |
| Works Cited List Citation |
"Dictionary Term, Abbreviation for part(s) of speech. (Definition number, if given)." Dictionary Name, Publisher if given and different from website name, Year, URL. Accessed Day Month Year viewed (optional, add if there is no upload/publication date). Examples: "Intersectionality, N." Merriam-Webster, 2021, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/intersectionality. "Job, N. (1)." Merriam-Webster, 2021, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/job. "Pandemic, Adj. and N." Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford UP, 2021, www.oed.com/view/Entry/136746. "Defund, V." Merriam-Webster, 2021, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/defund. "Exemplarily, Adv." Cambridge English Dictionary, 2021, dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/exemplarily. |
| In-Text Citation |
("Dictionary Term") Examples: ("Intersectionarlity") |
Note: Wikipedia is generally not considered an acceptable source for a West Sound Academy assignment. Be sure to evaluate the content carefully and check with your instructor regarding using Wikipedia as a source.
| Works Cited List Citation |
"Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, Day Month Year entry was last modified, Time entry was last modified, URL. Example: "The Lark Ascending (Vaughan Williams)." Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 18 May 2021, 22:53 (UTC), en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lark_Ascending_(Vaughan_Williams). |
| In-Text Citation |
("Title of encyclopedia entry") Note: If the source has a long title, you may shorten it in your in-text citation by using the first word/phrase from the title. Example: ("The Lark") |
Works from the web can typically be changed or removed at any time, so while it's optional, the date which you accessed material is often important. This is especially true when there is no date specifying when an item was produced.This date will be added to the end of the entry. E.g. Accessed 23 July 2016.
An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.
If you are citing a chapter from a book that has an editor, the author of the chapter is listed first, and is the name listed in the in-text citation.
The format of all dates is: Date Month (shortened) Year. E.g. 5 Sept. 2012.
Whether to give the year alone or include a month and day depends on your source: write the full date as you find it there.
If no date is listed, omit it unless you can find that information available in a reliable source. In that case the date is cited in square brackets. E.g. [2008]
Page number on your Works Cited page (but not for in-text citations) are now proceeded by p. for a single page number and pp. for a range of page numbers. E.g. p. 156 or pp. 79-92.
You have the option to use the shortened name of the publisher by using UP instead of University Press (e.g. Oxford UP, not Oxford University Press).
You also have the option to remove articles (A, An, The), business abbreviations (e.g. Co., Inc.) and descriptive words (e.g. Books, House, Press, Publishers).
Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an.
If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).
|
|
|