Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Style: Reference Book

This guide will help you cite sources using the Chicago Citation Style 16th edition.

Book with One Author or Editor (14.75 / p. 695)

Well-known reference books are generally only cited in notes, not the bibliography.  Full publication information is usually not included, but the edition must be specified.

References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item preceded by "s.v.", instead of a volume or page number.

To cite less well-known reference books, or if a fuller citation is required, please see the page for a "Chapter or Article in a Multi-Author Book."

General Format 

Full Note:

1. Book Title: Subtitle, Edition, s.v. "Title of Entry."

Concise Note: 

2. Book Title: Subtitle, Edition, s.v. "Title of Entry."

Bibliography:

          Often omitted.

Example

Full Note:

1. Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "Salvation."

Concise Note:

2.  Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "Salvation."

Bibliography:

          Often omitted. 

Learn More

Download this 2-page guide:

Websites with information on using Chicago style:

About Citing Books

This guide is intended to cover only the Notes and Bibliography system for citing books.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

Full Note - use the first time that you cite a source.
Concise Note - use after the first time you cite a source.
Bibliography - use when you are compiling the Bibliography that appears at the end of your paper.

Information on citing and several of the examples were drawn from The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.). 

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific sections and pages in the manual.

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian