General Format
Full Note:
1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume,
no. Issue (Year): page #, doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR URL of journal article web
page.
Concise Note:
2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.
Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume,
no. Issue (Year): Page range of article [if provided]. doi:xx
.xxxxxxxxxx OR URL of journal article web page.
Example 1
Full Note:
1. Bernard Testa and Lamont B. Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence in the
Self-Organisation of Complex Systems," Entropy 2, no. 1 (2000): 17,
https://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.
Concise Note:
2. Testa and Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence," 17.
Bibliography:
Testa, Bernard, and Lamont B. Kier. "Emergence and Dissolvence in the
Self-Organisation of Complex Systems." Entropy 2, no. 1 (2000): 1-25.
https://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.
Example 2
Full Note:
1. David Meban, "Temple Building, Primus Language, and the Proem
Virgil's Third Georgic," Classical Philology 103, no. 2 (2008): 153, doi:10.1086
/591611.
Concise Note:
2. Meban, "Temple Building," 153.
Bibliography:
David Meban. "Temple Building, Primus Language, and the Proem
Virgil's Third Georgic." Classical Philology 103, no. 2 (2008):
150-74, doi:10.1086/591611.
A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique code preferred by publishers in the identification and exchange of the content of a digital object, such as a journal article, Web document, or other item of intellectual property. The DOI consists of two parts: a prefix assigned to each publisher by the administrative DOI agency and a suffix assigned by the publisher that may be any code the publisher chooses. DOIs and their corresponding URLs (Uniform Resource Locators) are registered in a central DOI directory that functions as a routing system.
The DOI is persistent, meaning that the identification of a digital object does not change even if ownership of or rights in the entity are transferred. It is also actionable, meaning that clicking on it in a Web browser display will redirect the user to the content. The DOI is also interoperable, designed to function in past, present, and future digital technologies. The registration and resolver system for the DOI is run by the International DOI Foundation (IDF). CrossRef is a collaborative citation linking service that uses the DOI. Click here to learn more about the DOI.
Example: doi:10.1080/14622200410001676305
If a DOI is listed on an electronic source it is included in the reference. When there is a choice between using a DOI or a URL, it is recommended that a DOI be used.
Reitz, Joan M. "Digital Object Identifier (DOI)." In Online Dictionary for
Library and Information Science. ABC-CLIO, 2014. Accessed June 18,
2023. https://odlis.abc-clio.com/odlis_d.html
This guide is intended to cover only the Notes and Bibliography system for citing articles.
For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.
The following format will be used:
Full Note - use the first time that you cite a source.
Concise Note - use after the first time you cite a source.
Bibliography - use when you are compiling the Bibliography that appears at the end of your paper.
Information on citing and several of the examples were drawn from The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.).
Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the manual.
Formatting of papers in Chicago Style:
Citations and bibliographies in Chicago Style:
|
|
|