LibGuides: WSA@Home Enrichment Resources: MORE Free eBooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale eBooks (formally Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area.
- What's included?
  Gale eBooks includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
- How do I cite it?
  Look for the Export button on the right. Choose Direct Export to NoodleTools, and import the citation directly to your open NoodleTools project. If you choose to copy and paste it instead, be sure to grab the "Permalink" as well, and put that in the URL box underneath the quick cite box in NoodleTools.

Hathi Trust

Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Users have full-view, full-text access to more than 6.7 million public domain and Creative Commons-licensed works.

eBook Collections with Unlimited Access

Directory of Open Access Books
The academic books in the directory are available under an Open Access license (such as a Creative Commons license) and are subjected to independent and external peer review prior to publication.
Project Muse Open Access eBooks
PLEASE NOTE! To look for Open Access books use the search bar on the LEFT. Search bar on the top of the page gives books and articles, and not all are Open Access. Look for the little blue OA icon to help you determine if the book you are looking at is Open Access. Books are given by chapter.
JSTOR Open Access eBooks
These are available at all times - not just during the COVID-19 outbreak! More than 60,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers. Users don't need to register and there are no DRM restrictions or limits on chapter PDF downloads or printing.

JSTOR Resources During COVID-19

JSTOR To support secondary schools, colleges, and universities where students have been displaced due to COVID-19., JSTOR and their participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to subscribing institutions. This includes West Sound Academy. The additional content will be available through December 31, 2020, and includes:

All of JSTOR's Archive and Primary Source collections
More than 35,000 additional eBooks
26 journal archives in Public Health - free for everyone

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.
- What's included?
  It includes thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s, along with open-access eBooks.
- How do I cite it?
  Look for the Cite this item button on the left. Click the COPY button next to your preferred style, then the Export to NoodleTools link to import the citation directly to your open NoodleTools project. If you want to copy and paste the citation instead, be sure to take the "Remote Access URL" provided.

EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection

When you login to EBSCOhost, in addition to having access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text, you will also be able to search thousands of more academic eBooks from another research database: EBSCO eBook Academic Collection.

EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection has academic eBooks on most academic subjects.
- What's included?
  It contains thousands of eBook titles and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Coverage in eBook content is 1963 to the present.
- How do I cite it?
  Click the ‘Cite’ button in the upper right, then select either MLA 9th Edition or Chicago 17th Edition (Notes & Bibliography) from the drop-down menu for Style. Click ‘Export Citation’, then click ‘Export to NoodleTools’. In the new window, check that the reference and project for it to be added to are correct, then click ‘Import’.

Manga!

Manga!
The good folks at Sora News (no relation to the ebook app) have pulled together information that will point you to more than 400 volumes of manga, new and backlist, that you can read online.
more...less...
Access may require downloading a free app from the publisher, and some volumes are only available in Japanese. Parents, please preview before sharing with younger students as manga is a wide-ranging format and many titles are intended for older audiences.

Riveted by Simon Teen

Riveted by Simon Teen
Free Reads on the Simon Teen site "so that even if you can’t get to your local bookstore you can continue to read amazing books!" The selection changes on a regular basis; each eBook is only available for reading for two weeks.

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg
Over 60,000 free eBooks, available in epub and Kindle formats for download or to read in your browser. This is a collection of work no longer covered by copyright, so you'll find most of the Western canon as well as international works and plenty of oldies you've never heard of. Note that this is a repository rather than a curated collection and as such contains works which may have dated, offensive language or attitudes.