Resources - World Cultures - World Cultures - 6th/7th Grade

WSA Databases

Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference resources to help middle school students complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history, with videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more. Contact the instructor or the librarian for the Library ID password required for off-campus access.

World Book Student This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference site for students in elementary through middle school, with Behind the Headlines links to the day's top stories, an extensive Biography Center, and a built-in dictionary and atlas. Contact the instructor of the librarian for the user ID and password required for off-campus access.

Websites

BBC News Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives. Use the menus to select a country, territory or international organization.
CIA World Factbook
Provides provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Countries and their Cultures
Countries and their Cultures provides detailed profiles of countries around the world and explains the cultural norms and influences there. Presented by Advameg, Inc., an Illinois-based company that has a set of websites that provide access to reference materials on a variety of topics.
Food in Every Country
Food in Every Country provides detailed information on the culinary traditions of a wide range of countries, as well as recipes that users can easily make at home. Presented by Advameg Inc., an Illinois-based company that has a set of websites that provide access to reference materials on a wide range of topics

Search the WSA Library Catalog

Find books, digital resources (ebooks), WebPath Express websites, and Open Educational Resources (OER).

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Go to Gale Virtual Reference Library to find articles on different countries and their cultures.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale eBooks (formally Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area.
- What's included?
  Gale eBooks includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
- How do I cite it?
  Look for the Export button on the right. Choose Direct Export to NoodleTools, and import the citation directly to your open NoodleTools project. If you choose to copy and paste it instead, be sure to grab the "Permalink" as well, and put that in the URL box underneath the quick cite box in NoodleTools.

These ebooks in the WSA Gale Virtual Reference Library are worth checking out:

Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps. c2001, 2549 pp., 4 volumes.
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Presents profiles of 194 countries of the world. Topics include climate, plants and animals, population and ethnic groups, religions, transportation, history, government, political parties, judicial system, economy, education, arts, media, tourism, and famous people. 2007, 3167 pp., 10 vols.
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World
This 4-vol. set provides comprehensive coverage of the foods and recipes from 70 representative countries and culture groups worldwide -- from Algeria to Zimbabwe. 2002, 702 pp., 4 vols.
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Holidays
Written for students in middle and high school, offering in-depth information on such holidays as Children's/Youth Day, Christmas (and related celebrations), Halloween and Festivals of the Dead, Hanukkah, Independence Day (Cinco de Mayo, Bastille Day, etc.), Kwanza, Yom Kippur, New Year celebrations and many others. 2000, 475 pp., 4 vols.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more. 2009, 2906 pp., 5 vols.

Search WebPath Express

Search over 100,000 relevant, accurate, and up-to-date websites. Narrow results by:
Topic
Source Type (dictionary/thesaurus, encyclopedia, magazine, news, primary source)
Format (media types such as eBook, interactive, music, video, animation, audio, image)
Language (English, French, Spanish, Chinese, and many others)
Domain (.gov, .com. .ca, .ru, etc.)

World Cultures - 6th/7th Grade: Resources - World Cultures

WSA Databases

Websites

Search the WSA Library Catalog

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search WebPath Express