Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB Theatre - Solo Theatre Piece (last assessment 2022): Theorists

This guide provides resources for the Solo Theatre Piece (Task 1) external assessment for IB Theatre (last assessment 2022).

Possible Theorists

Any of the theorists on this page can be used for the Solo Theatre Piece. There are boxes for some of the theorists that have links to a biography and a primary source, and suggestions for related articles or video in Digital Theatre Plus. The WSA Library does not have copies of most of these primary sources, but you can obtain them with an Inter-Library Loan through your local public library.

Stella Adler Bertolt Brecht Athol Fugard Joan Littlewood Eric  Morris Max  Stafford-Clark
F.M. Alexander Peter Brook Jerzy Grotowski Annie Loui Franca Rama Lee  Strasberg
Laurie Anderson Dymphna Callery Uta Hagen Judith Malina & Julian Beck Yoshi Oida Tadashi  Suzuki
Antonin Artaud Michael Chekhov Keith Johnstone David Mamet & William Macy Patsy Rodenburg Rabindranath  Tagore
Eugenio Barba Etienne Decroux Tadeusz Kantor Charles Marowitz Flaminio Scala Julie  Taymor
Steven Berkoff François Delsarte Rodolf Laban Sanford Meisner Mikhail Shchepkin Robert Wilson
Cicely Berry Declan Donnellan Jacques Lecoq Vsevold Meyerhold Wole Soyinka Zeami
Augusto Boal Dario Fo Kristin Linklater Ariane Mnouchkine Viola Spolin Emile Zola

Stella Adler

The American educator, director, and actress Stella Adler (1901–1992) shaped both the style of American theater and many of its individual practitioners. She was one of the key exponents of the ideas of Russian theater innovator Konstantin Stanislavsky in the United States, but she put her own stamp on those ideas with her outsized personality and energy.

Frederick Matthias (F.M.) Alexander

Frederick Matthias (F.M.) Alexander (1869–1955) founded the Alexander Technique in the 1890’s to cure chronic voice and respiratory troubles that were preventing him from continuing his acting career. He taught the Alexander Technique up until his death in 1955.

Antonin Artaud

Antonin Artaud (1896-1948) was one of the 20th century's most important theoreticians of the drama. He developed the theory of the Theater of Cruelty, which has influenced playwrights from Beckett to Genet, from Albee to Gelber.


Eugenio Barba

Eugenio Barba (b. 1936  in Brindisi, Italy) is a theatre director and theorist. He founded the Odin Teatret,  an international theatrical community, in Oslo in 1964 (based in Holstebrö, Denmark since 1966) and has toured with them throughout the world.  Barba also founded the International School of Theatre Anthropology (ISTA) to study intercultural performance and acting techniques.

Steven Berkoff

Steven Berkoff (b. 1937, East London, UK) is an actor and theatre director as well as a playwright. His reputation was founded on his adaptations from Kafka - The TrialMetamorphosis, and In the Penal Colony - after which his first original stage play, East, won critical acclaim in 1975 for its originality and eclectic concoction of Elizabethan verse and punk poetry with Cockney slang. Berkoff is best known for his acting on stage and in films, alongside a parallel career as a director and author.


Augusto Boal

Augusto Boal (1931-2009), Brazilian theatre director and author, created a unique set of democratically oriented innovations in the basic form of stage drama.  He called these innovations the Theatre of the Oppressed.


Bertold Brecht

The German author Bertolt Brecht (1898-1956) is probably the greatest German playwright of the first half of the 20th century. His works were often considered controversial because of his revolutionary dramatic theory and his political beliefs.

Peter Brook

Peter Brook (born 1925) was a world renowned theater director, staging innovative productions of the works of famous playwrights.

François Delsarte

François Delsarte (1811 - 1871) was a French educator, music and dramatic instructor, and originator of a widely recognized system of elocution.  He developed a theory on the connection between mental attitudes, emotions, physical postures and gestures.

Books in the WSA Library

Dario Fo

Italian playwright Dario Fo (1926-2016) was known for his satirical and often controversial works. He was awarded the 1997 Nobel Prize in Literature.

Jerzy Grotowski

Jerzy Grotowski (1933-1999) was the founder of the Laboratory Theatre in Wrocław, Poland, an experimental theater in which attention is focused almost exclusively on the actor and his/her message, rather than on such props as costumes, music, and makeup, which were eliminated.

Vsevold Meyerhold

The Russian actor, director, and theatre producer Vsevolod Emilievich Meyerhold (1874-1940) was noted for his stylistic experiments with nonrealistic performances in constructivist settings.

Robert Wilson

American theatre director and designer Robert Wilson (born 1941) has collaborated with contemporary composers in the creation of musical theater pieces Wilson's interest, like that of Gertrude Stein, is in the use of components of syntax and sound to create a new form of language.



West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian