Get started! - IB Theatre - Solo Theatre Piece (last assessment 2023)

Introduction to the IB Theatre Solo Theatre Piece

This guide provides resources for the Solo Theatre Piece, External Assessment (Task 1) for IB Theatre. On this page, see:

IB Resources - Handouts, graphic organizers and assessment rubric

Information on WSA databases:

Digital Theatre Plus - Research theorists here!
Artstor - find Theatre and Dance Resources

Examples of assessed student work:

Example 1 - report, video, assessment
     Theorist: Robert Lepage
     Aspect of theory: Use of multimedia
Example 2 - report, video, assessment
     Theorist: Konstantin Stanislavsky
     Aspect of theory: Emotion Memory
Example 3 - report, video, assessment
     Theorist: Augusto Boal
     Aspect of theory: Newspaper Theatre

See other pages in this guide for help with aspects of the Solo Theatre Piece:

Definitions
An Example: Theatre Based on Theory
Theorists
How to Create a Solo Theatre Performance
Other Resources
Evaluating the Presentation

For help with your research and writing, see:

NoodleTools
Annotated Bibliography
MLA Parenthetical and in-text Citations

Example 1 - Theorist: Robert Lepage

Theorist: Robert Lepage

Aspect of theory: Use of multimedia

Report, Solo Theatre Piece Example 1 - Theorist: Robert Lepage
Assessed student work from IB Publishing, readable online only. View work page-by-page using 'va-carousel' tool. Click on right hand side of each page to go to next page.
Video, Solo Theatre Piece, Example 1 - Theorist: Robert Lepage
Assessed student work from IB Publishing, viewable online only.

Solo Theatre Piece Assessment, Example 1 - Theorist: Robert Lepage
Markbands achieved and examiner comments for Solo Theatre Piece example.

Example 2 - Theorist: Konstantin Stanislavsky

Theorist: Konstantin Stanislavsky

Aspect of theory: Emotion memory

Report, Solo Theatre Piece Example 2 - Theorist: Konstantin Stanislavsky
Assessed student work from IB Publishing, readable online only. View work page-by-page using 'va-carousel' tool. Click on right hand side of each page to go to next page.
Video, Solo Theatre Piece - Theorist: Konstantin Stanislavsky
Assessed student work from IB Publishing, viewable online only.

Solo Theatre Piece Assessment, Example 2 - Theorist: Konstantin Stanislavsky
Markbands achieved and examiner comments for Director's Notebook example.

IB Resources for Task 1: Solo Theatre Piece

IB Theatre, External Assessment - Task 1: Solo Theatre Piece
Excerpt from IB Theatre guide (First assessment 2017), pp. 33-44, related to the solo theatre piece, with an introduction to the topic, task details, and the external assessment criteria.
Command terms for IB theatre
List of key terms and phrases used in the IB theatre assessment objectives and assessment criteria.
Theory in Context
This worksheet guides students in looking at a theorist and the theory in the context of history (relationship of the theory to other theories of the time and theories that came before it) and its relevance (the importance of the theory to subsequent development of the theatre).
Aspect in Context
Use this handout to organize research on the different aspects of the theatre theorist’s theory. How do they relate to each other?
Recording Ideas
Use this graphic organizer to record your ideas for the solo piece and to show the process of how these ideas are developed and/or refined.
Recording Processes
Use this handout to guide your own practical process of exploration and to record your process.
Intention and Impact
Use this worksheet to help you identify the intention and impact of your solo theatre piece from the perspective of creator, designer and director. What would be an appropriate intention regarding this aspect of theory? Who is the target audience? What impact should this piece of theatre have on an audience? How will this be achieved?
Choosing Material
This graphic organizer will help you consider some of your options for choosing material for your solo piece. The material you choose should allow you to fulfill your directorial intentions and the intended impact on the audience, as well as demonstrate the aspect of theory you have selected in action.
Developing Material
This graphic organization illustrates a possible process for the development of your solo piece once it has been created, and a way to record your development process and interactions with your mentor. You'll need to think about design, use of space, set, lights, sound, props and costume if appropriate.
Student Process Checklist: Creating Theatre Based on Theory
A checklist of the eleven different tasks involved for the student completing Task 1, Solo Theatre Piece, for IB Theatre.
Assessment Rubric for IB Theatre HL Solo Theatre Piece
IB grade bands for the four assessment criteria for the Solo Theatre Piece for IB Theatre HL: Theatre in Context: The theorist, the theory and the contexts; Theatre Processes: Practical explorations of the aspect(s) of theory and the development of the solo theatre piece; Presenting Theatre: Theatre theory in practice; and Presenting Theatre: Evaluation of the solo theatre piece and reflections.

Task 1: (Solo theatre piece) (HL only) "requires students to create a fully produced piece of theatre based on theatre theory. Students submit a report (maximum 3,000 words) which includes their research into and understandings of the theorist, the theory and the context of the theorist’s work. It also records their practical explorations of the selected aspect(s) of theory, the development of the solo theatre piece and evaluation of the theatre piece and its implications on their learning in theatre." - IB Theatre Guide, First assessment 2017, p. 33.

Template for Solo Theatre Piece Report
- This link opens in a new window
This template for writing the report for the IB Theatre Task 1: Solo theatre piece gives specific guidance to students on what to include in the three components of the report: The Theorist, the Aspect, and the Context; Practical Explorations, Intentions, and Development; and Evaluation & Reflection. Created by Rebekah Schneider, Seoul Foreign School in Seoul, Republic of Korea.
Theatre EE Guidelines
A detailed guide to planning, researching, and writing a Theatre Extended essay, with emphasis on the components students need to have in order to score well in the five assessment criteria. Compiled by Simon Bell, an IB Trainer, Examiner and one of the many authors of the IB Theatre curriculum.

Example 3 - Theorist: Augusto Boaz

Theorist: Augusto Boal

Aspect of theory: Newspaper Theatre

Report, Solo Theatre Piece Example 3 - Theorist: Augusto Boaz
Assessed student work from IB Publishing, readable online only. View work page-by-page using 'va-carousel' tool. Click on right hand side of each page to go to next page.
Video, Solo Theatre Piece, Example 3 - Theorist: Augusto Boaz
Assessed student work from IB Publishing, viewable online only.

Solo Theatre Piece Assessment, Example 3 - Theorist: Augusto Boaz
Markbands achieved and examiner comments for Director's Notebook example.

Theatre and Dance Resources on Artstor

Artstor
Use the guide below to find content related to theatre and dance in Artstor. Their collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates. When using Artstor on the WSA campus, register for a free user account. Your account allows you to access the Digital Library while off-campus. You can download images, create and share image groups, and more.

Theater and Dance in Artstor
This page highlights Artstor content related to theater and dance, including images of costumes, venues, and staged performances from around the world, as well as portraits and performance shots of notable playwrights, theater directors, choreographers, set and costume designers, actors, and dancers.

Search WSA Databases

WSA Databases
Links and descriptions for all of West Sound Academy's subscription databases.

Search the WSA Library Catalog - Small vertical

Find books, digital resources (ebooks), WebPath Express websites, and Open Educational Resources (OER).

Instructor

Gretchen Nordleaf

Room: Frodel B
Frodel Hall

Email: gnordleaf@westsoundacademy.org

WSA IB Theatre Website: https://www.wsaibtheatre.org

Quick Links

A-Z Database List
Links to all of WSA's subscription databases.
Google login
Login to access your WSA email and Google Docs
Grammarly
Check for grammatical errors and avoid plagiarism
NoodleTools Login
Login to access tools for note-taking, outlining, and citation.
PlagiarismCheck.org Login
Check your writing for unintended plagiarism

DT+ - Research Theorists Here!

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Digital Theatre Plus gives you access to films of leading theatre productions – drama, comedies, and musicals.
- What's included?
  Filmed theatre productions and symphony orchestra, opera, and ballet performances, along with interviews of directors, actors, and other creative team members and detailed analysis of play texts.
- How do I cite it?
  This database doesn't supply citations. In NoodleTools, choose Database, then determine what you are looking at and do your best when filling out the form. Examples” Reference Source; Film or Video Recording.

Digital Theatre Plus has streaming video of theatre performances, but there's so much more! You'll find video, audio, and full text articles on Titles (Plays and Productions), Genres, Themes, and People.

When searching Titles use these limiters to narrow your results list:

Genre - Comedy, Drama, History, Musical Theatre, Romance, Satire, Tragedy, or Tragicomedy
Course - Adaptation, American Theatre, Contemporary Performance, European Theatre, Gender & Performance, Introduction to Theatre, Performance Art, Race & Performance, Rehearsal Process, Social and Emotional Learning, Technical Theatre, World Theatre
Theme - Coming of Age, Conflict, Courage & Heroism, Love, Power, Redemption, Revenge
Form - Applied Theatre, Commedia dell'arte, Dance, Devised Theatre, Epic Theatre, Expressionism, Farce, Immersive Theatre, Intercultural Theatre, Modernism, Naturalism, Opera, Physical Theatre, Poetry, Political Theatre, Popular Theatre, Poor Theatre, Postdramatic Theatre, Realism, Site-Specific Theatre, Theatre of the Absurd, Verbatim Theatre

When searching People use this limiters to narrow your results list:

Role - Writer, Director, Actor, Production Departments, Practitioner, Choreographer, Composer, Voice Coach

Librarian

Susan Trower

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

West Sound Academy
16571 Creative Drive NE
Poulsbo, WA 98370

360-598-5954

IB Theatre - Solo Theatre Piece (last assessment 2023): Get started!