Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB Theatre - Research Presentation (last assessment 2022): Databases

This guide provides resources for the Research Presentation (Task 3) external assessment for IB Theatre (last assessment 2022).

WSA Databases

Ottoman shadow puppets, Karagöz and Hacivat - Britannica Image QuestLook for articles and multimedia on world theatre traditions in WSA databases.

Artstor

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)

Gale eBooks 

JSTOR

World Book Advanced

Artstor

Fine Arts (Gale One File)

Featured journals in Fine Arts (Gale OneFile):  

American Drama

Coverage: 06/2002 to 06/2002, semiannual

American Theatre

Coverage: 01/1992 to 05/2020, monthly, includes images

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 03/2001) to present, semiannual
Moving Wall: 1 year
 

Comparative Drama

Coverage: 03/2000 (Image start date: 06/2001) to present, quarterly

Early Theatre

Coverage: 01/1998 to present, semiannual, includes images

Indian Theatre Journal

Coverage: 04/2017 - 04/2019, semiannual, includes images

T D & T (Theatre, Design & Technology)

Coverage: 06/2011 to present, quarterly, includes images

Theatre Crafts

Coverage: 01/1977 to 06/1992, monthly

Theatre Journal

Coverage: 03/1993 to present, quarterly
Moving Wall: 1 year

Theatre Notebook

Coverage: 02/2006 to present, triennial, includes images
Moving Wall: 1 year

Theatre Symposium

Coverage: 0312007 (Image start date: 01/2009) to present, annual

 

What is a moving wall?  The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in Gale OneFile and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in Gale OneFile shortly after publication.

Note: In calculating the moving wall, the current year is not counted.

For example, if the current year is 2021 and a journal has a 1 year moving wall, articles from the year 2019 are available.

JSTOR

Featured journals in JSTOR:  

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ
Coverage: 1984-2012 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 29, No. 2)
Moving Wall: 3 years
Comparative Drama
Coverage: 1967-2012 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 46, No. 4)
Moving Wall: 3 years
Early Theatre  
Coverage: 1998-2013 (Vol. 1 - Vol. 16, No. 2)
Moving Wall: 2 years
Theatre Journal
Coverage: 1979-2010 (Vol. 31, No. 1 - Vol. 62, No. 4)
Moving Wall: 5 years
Victorian Studies
Coverage: 1957-2015 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 58, No. 1)
Moving Wall: 3 years
 

What is a moving wall?  The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in JSTOR shortly after publication.

Note: In calculating the moving wall, the current year is not counted.

For example, if the current year is 2008 and a journal has a 5 year moving wall, articles from the year 2002 are available.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks with articles on world theatre traditions:

Greek Comedy and Tragedy - Ancient Greece

Roman Comedy and Tragedy - Ancient Rome

Topeng Dance - Bali

Cantonese, Yueju and Peking opera - China

Yuan Drama or Zaju - China

English Renaissance theatre - England

Medieval Mystery Plays - England, France, Germany

Kathakali - India

Barong (or Rangda) Dance - Indonesia

Kecak - Indonesia

Wayang Golek puppetry - Indonesia, Malaysia

Wayang Kulit shadow puppetry - Indonesia, Malaysia

Commedia Dell'arte - Italy

Bunraku - Japan

Kabuki - Japan

Kyōgen farce and Noh theatre - Japan

Khon dance drama - Thailand

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian