Skip to main content

Copyright and Image Use in the Artstor Digital Library: Institutional collections via JSTOR Forum

This LibGuide outlines the safe ways to use images from the Artstor Digital Library according to their Terms and Conditions of Use, how to identify the sources of images you are working with, and how to find and use images for publications.

Identifying your institution's JSTOR Forum collections

JSTOR Forum is a media management and cataloging tool created by Artstor.  You might see collections in the Artstor Workspace that have been put into JSTOR Forum by partner institutions that share network access with WSA.

Images that are owned by network access partners will be designated in search results and on the image detail page with an "Institutional" icon: 

Chinese for the Tibetan market, Saddle, 17th - 18th Century. Image cThe Metropolitan Museum of ArtThese collections are owned by the institution and are merely viewable alongside Artstor Digital Library content in the Workspace; they are not part of the Artstor Digital Library's collections, which means that institution’s rules and policies about copyright will apply to these images and the rights for these image are managed by that institution. Please check the "rights" field in the image data to learn more about how you can use these images and see section 4.3 of Artstor's Terms and Conditions for more information.

Limiting searches to your institution's image collections

There are two ways to limit your search results to only content owned by your institution or those in its shared network. First, you can conduct a keyword search, then select "Institutional Collections" from the Filtered Search panel on the left:

 

Alternately, you can conduct an Advanced Search and limit your results to your institution's collections by checking "Institutional Collections" in the lower right of the Advanced Search window:

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian