Greek & Roman Plays - IB Theatre - Director's Notebook (last assessment 2023)

Plays by Greek & Roman Playwrights

Find Drama for Students articles and WSA Library books with plays from the Greek and Roman playwrights listed below. Also see:

Digital Theatre Plus - films of leading theatre productions
Drama Online - films of National Theatre productions

Writers with plays in the WSA library are marked with:

Aeschylus ( 525 BC - c. 456 BC )
Aristophanes ( 450 BC - 388 BC )
Euripides ( 480 BC - 406 BC )
Plautus ( c. 254 BC - c. 184 BC )
Sophocles ( c. 496 BC - c. 406 BC )

Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Digital Theatre Plus gives you access to films of leading theatre productions – drama, comedies, and musicals.
- What's included?
  Filmed theatre productions and symphony orchestra, opera, and ballet performances, along with interviews of directors, actors, and other creative team members and detailed analysis of play texts.
- How do I cite it?
  This database doesn't supply citations. In NoodleTools, choose Database, then determine what you are looking at and do your best when filling out the form. Examples” Reference Source; Film or Video Recording.

Drama Online

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Drama Online gives you access to play texts and a selection of filmed performances of the Royal National Theatre in London.
- What's included?
  It contains the Core and Critical Studies Collection (with full text of over 1,700 plays and over 400 related academic ebooks from Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare) and the National Theatre Collection of filmed performances.
- How do I cite it?
  This database doesn't supply citations. In NoodleTools, choose Database, then determine what you are looking at and do your best when filling out the form. A play text would be cited like a Book. Other examples: Reference Source; Film or Video Recording.

Aeschylus

Prometheus Bound by Aeschylus
Call Number: 882.01 Aes
ISBN: 0486287629
Publication Date: 1996-01-22
Presents a translation of the ancient Greek play "Prometheus Bound," which chronicles the feud between Zeus, the ruler of the gods, and Prometheus, the champion of mankind.

Aristophanes

Lysistrata, by Aristophanes, 411 B.C.

Euripides

Medea by Euripides; Michael Collier (Translator); Georgia Machemer (Editor)
Call Number: 882.01 Eur
ISBN: 9780195145663
Publication Date: 2006-08-10
Presents the script of the classic Greek tragedy in which Medea, betrayed by her husband and banished from her home, plots insane and violent revenge.
Medea by Oliver Taplin (Translator); Euripides
Call Number: 882.01 Eur
ISBN: 9780226203454
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Presents the classic Greek tragedy in which Medea, betrayed by her husband and banished from her home, plots insane and violent revenge.
Medea and Other Plays by James Morwood (Edited and Translated by); Edith Hall (Introduction by); Euripides
Call Number: 882.01 Eur
ISBN: 0192824422
Publication Date: 1998-11-19
Presents four classic plays by the ancient Greek dramatist, Euripides, featuring themes from native Greek mythology and legend: Alcestis -- Medea -- Children of Heracles -- Hippolytus.

Plautus

Mostellaria or the Haunted House by Plautus
Call Number: 872.01 Pla
ISBN: 1419174622
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
A father's away so his son's at play. Under the influence of his clever slave, Tranio, the youth has purchased a lovely courtesan, and has embarked on a non-stop revel; the family home is the scene of constant wining and dining. Then suddenly the old man shows up! What can be done? Tranio must dream up tricks to keep his master from entering the party-filled house.

Sophocles

Theatre Alive! by Norman A. Bert (Editor, Introduction by); Arthur L. Zapel (Editor); Rhonda Wray (Editor)
Call Number: 808.82 The
ISBN: 1566080088
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
An anthology of world drama from many cultures with sixteen famous plays by leading international playwrights.

Includes 'Oedipus the King' by Sophocles: The classic Greek tragedy about Oedipus, a king who inadvertantly kills his father and marries his mother.

The Theban Plays by Sophocles; E. F. Watling (Introduction by, Translator)
Call Number: 882.01 Sop
ISBN: 0140440038
Publication Date: 1950-06-30
Contains a collection of three plays by the Greek philosopher and writer, Sophocles, that examines mankind's struggle against fate, and includes "King Oedipus", "Oedipus at Colonus", and "Antigone". Includes introduction and notes.
Oedipus Rex by Sophocles
Call Number: 882.01 Sop
ISBN: 0486268772
Publication Date: 1991-06-01
The classic Greek tragedy about Oedipus, a king who inadvertantly kills his father and marries his mother.
The Complete Plays of Sophocles by Sophocles
Call Number: 882.01 Sop
ISBN: 9780062020345
Publication Date: 2011-07-26
Ancient Greek dramatist Sophocles' three great tragedies based on the myth of Oedipus.

IB Theatre - Director's Notebook (last assessment 2023): Greek & Roman Plays