Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Remote access requires username and/or password
  • Magazines / Newspapers
  • New!
Trial
Find global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more. New media featured include blogs, college/university newspapers, links to video from news channels, journals, magazines, newspapers, newswires, transcripts of radio and television programs, and web-only content. Most news media in this database are in English, but also included are over 100 sources in Spanish and over 90 in French. Trial good through December 31, 2020.
  • Audio
New
Listen online to audio books in many different categories: fiction, non-fiction, classics and some Spanish translations. There are 1,000 books in the collection. Plays, including Shakespeare, are also part of the collection. These books are always available, never on hold, and no need to download. To start listening, just click on the link on the WSA library page – no username or password required.
  • Remote access requires username and/or password
  • eBooks
Trial
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of eBook titles covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Coverage in eBook content is 1963 to the present.
  • Remote access requires username and/or password
  • Magazines / Newspapers
Trial
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues in three different databases. Find global information on a wide range of topics in Access World News. Explore and research topics across Washington State in Washington State News. Search more than 30 years of Seattle area history with The Seattle Times Collection. Trial expires December 31, 2020.
  • Remote access requires username and/or password
  • Audio
  • Images
  • Videos
  • New!
New
Find information on an extensive list of health-related, familial and social issues, presented in a straightforward and non-judgmental way. Topics covered include diseases, drugs and alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide and bullying, green living, LGBTQ issues and many more. Browse by subject area or the A to Z topic list.
  • Audio
  • eBooks
  • Videos
New Trial
TeenBookCloud is an online collection of ebooks, enhanced novels, graphic novels, videos and audio books offering students and adults of all reading levels access to an amazing range of content. Their enhanced ebooks combine audio narration with line-by-line highlighting. Includes about 1000 titles, including 372 ebooks, 155 Enhanced Ebooks, 120 audio books, 120 national geographic videos, and 74 graphic novels. No username or password required when using the WSA Library link.
  • Remote access requires username and/or password
  • Images
  • Magazines / Newspapers
Trial
Search more than 30 years of Seattle area history with The Seattle Times Collection. Coverage is from 1985 to current. Find full-color newspaper pages, with photos, in 'Seattle Times, The (WA) '/ Format: Image, or individual full-text articles (no photos) and content only published online in 'Seattle Times, The (WA)' / Format: Text and 'Seattle Times, The: Web Edition Articles (WA)'. Trial expires December 31, 2020.
  • eBooks
New Trial
An online collection of animated, talking picture eBooks for children in grades K-6. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you. The collection includes old time favorites such as The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch, Diary of a Worm, and How I Became a Pirate, as well as favorite fairy tales such as Jack and the Beanstalk and Old Mother Hubbard. Also included are National Geographic videos and games. No username or password required when using the WSA Library link.
  • Audio
  • eBooks
New Trial
A comprehensive collection of math picture books for children in grades K-6. All books are in the TumbleBook format complete with animation, sound, music, and narration. The books are accompanied by supplementary materials such as lesson plans and quizzes. No username or password required when using the WSA Library link.
  • Remote access requires username and/or password
  • Magazines / Newspapers
Trial
Explore and research topics across Washington State. This resource contains 136 news sources from across the state including many local and regional newspapers (both print and online) and several college/university newspapers. Also included are transcripts of news broadcasts from television stations in Seattle and Spokane. Trial expires December 31, 2020.
  • Audio
  • Videos
  • New!
New
Yabla provides an immersive language-learning experience for Spanish students featuring authentic videos by native speakers. The interactive controls in Yabla's online video player include one-click dictionary definitions, pitch-adjusted slow play, loop play, and subtitle toggling.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian