Get started! - IB Theatre - Collaborative Project (last assessment 2023)

Introduction to the IB Theatre Research Presentation

This guide provides resources for the Collaborative Project Internal Assessment (Task 4) for IB Theatre.

On this page, see:

French street theatre company 'Trans Express' - Britannica ImageQuest IB Resources for the Collaborative Project - Handouts and assessment rubric

Examples of assessed student work on this page:

Starting point: A photograph—“Titan Arum”
Starting point: Idea, issue or theme—“Insomnia”
Starting point: Idea, issue or theme—“Social repression”

See other pages in this guide for help with aspects of the Collaborative Project:

Definitions
Your Theatre Profile
Collaborative Creation of Original Theatre
Starting Point & Structure
Making Your Video
Audience Impact
Professional Theatre Companies

For help with your research and writing, see:

NoodleTools
Annotated Bibliography
Parenthetical and in-text Citations

Collaborative Project Example —“Titan Arum”

Starting point: A photograph—“Titan Arum”

Submitted work, Student A

Please view the work in the following order.

Process Portfolio Example, Student A, "Titan Arum" Collaborative Project
Process portfolio for Collaborative Project example, "Titan Arum".

Video Example, Student A, "Titan Arum" Collaborative Project
Video recording showing evidence of the student’s contribution to the presentation of the collaboratively created piece

Bibliography Example, Student A, "Titan Arum" Collaborative Project
A list of all sources cited

Assessment, Student A

Assessment Example, Student A, "Titan Arum" Collaborative Project
Assessment, assessor comments, and moderator tips for Student A's work in the collaborative project example "Titan Arum"

Collaborative Project Example —“Insomia”

Starting point: Idea, issue or theme—“Insomnia”

Submitted work, Student B

Please view the work in the following order.

Process Portfolio Example, Student B, "Insomia" Collaborative Project
Process portfolio for Collaborative Project example, "Insomia".

Video Example, Student B, "Insomia" Collaborative Project
Video recording showing evidence of the student’s contribution to the presentation of the collaboratively created piece

Bibliography Example, Student B, "Insomia" Collaborative Project
A list of all sources cited

Assessment, Student B

Assessment Example, Student B, "Insomnia" Collaborative Project
Assessment, assessor comments, and moderator tips for Student B's work in the collaborative project example "Insomnia"

Collaborative Project Example —“Social repression”

Starting point: Idea, issue or theme—“Social repression”

Submitted work, Student C

Please view the work in the following order.

Process Portfolio Example, Student C, "Social repression"
Collaborative Project Process portfolio for Collaborative Project example, "Social repression".

Video Example, Student C, "Social repression" Collaborative Project
Video recording evidencing the student’s contribution to the presentation of the collaboratively created piece

Bibliography Example, Student C, "Social repression" Collaborative Project
A list of all sources cited

Assessment, Student C

Assessment Example, Student C, "Social repression" Collaborative Project
Assessment, assessor comments, and moderator tips for Student C's work in the collaborative project example "Social repression"

Search the WSA Library Catalog

Find books, digital resources (ebooks), WebPath Express websites, and Open Educational Resources (OER).

Instructor

Gretchen Nordleaf

Room: Frodel B
Frodel Hall

Email: gnordleaf@westsoundacademy.org

WSA IB Theatre Website: https://www.wsaibtheatre.org

IB Resources for Task 4: Collaborative Project

IB Theatre, Internal Assessment - Task 4: Collaborative Project
Excerpt from IB Theatre guide (First assessment 2017), pp. 51-62, related to the research presentation, with an introduction to the topic, task details, and the external assessment criteria.
Command terms for IB theatre
List of key terms and phrases used in the IB theatre assessment objectives and assessment criteria.
Student Process Checklist: Collaboratively Creating Original Theatre
A checklist of the eleven different tasks involved for the student completing Task 4, Collaborative Project, for IB Theatre.
Assessment Rubric for IB Theatre SL & HL Collaborative Project
IB grade bands for the four assessment criteria for the Collaborative Theatre Project Process Paper for IB Theatre SL & HL: Theatre in Context: The personal context and research into a professional company.; Theatre in Context: The formation of the group and exploration of the starting point (including target audience and intentions for the piece); Theatre Processes: Reflections on the development of the piece and the specific explorations led by the student; and Presenting Theatre: Evaluation of the student’s contribution to the final 13–15 minute performance and their artistic choices (as seen in the video).
Theatre EE Guidelines
A detailed guide to planning, researching, and writing a Theatre Extended essay, with emphasis on the components students need to have in order to score well in the five assessment criteria. Compiled by Simon Bell, an IB Trainer, Examiner and one of the many authors of the IB Theatre curriculum.

Artstor

Artstor
Use the guide below to find content related to theatre and dance in Artstor. Their collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates. When using Artstor on the WSA campus, register for a free user account. Your account allows you to access the Digital Library while off-campus. You can download images, create and share image groups, and more.

Theater and Dance in Artstor
This page highlights Artstor content related to theater and dance, including images of costumes, venues, and staged performances from around the world, as well as portraits and performance shots of notable playwrights, theater directors, choreographers, set and costume designers, actors, and dancers.

Search WSA Databases

WSA Databases
Links and descriptions for all of West Sound Academy's subscription databases.

Quick Links

A-Z Database List
Links to all of WSA's subscription databases.
Google login
Login to access your WSA email and Google Docs
Grammarly
Check for grammatical errors and avoid plagiarism
NoodleTools Login
Login to access tools for note-taking, outlining, and citation.
PlagiarismCheck.org Login
Check your writing for unintended plagiarism