Skip to main content

Library: Home

Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources

WSA Guides, A- Z

Circulation Information and Library Policies

Circulation Information

♦ Books and DVDs: can be checked out for 3 weeks
♦ Reference materials: can be checked out for 1 class period or overnight
♦ Online access: place holds and renewals online using your student or staff library user name and password 
♦ Contact the librarian to obtain your library user name and password, or to get help with using WSA's library resources.

Reading Bear bookendLibrary Policies

♦ Overdues:  no fines charged for overdue materials
♦ Lost or damaged materials:  cost for lost or damaged materials is the list price of the item plus a $15.00 handling fee
♦ Replacement option: Families can replace a missing book with a new copy, in the same format, of the book that's been checked out by their student; a $5.00 fee will be charged to cover the time and materials involved in library processing

New NewsBank Databases!

Access World News

Find global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more. New media featured include blogs, college/university newspapers, links to video from news channels, journals, magazines, newspapers, newswires, transcripts of radio and television programs, and web-only content.

Most news media in this database are in English, but also included are over 100 sources in Spanish and over 90 in French.

NewsBank Special Reports

NewsBank's Special Reports

NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. Each Report features current and retrospective coverage, and new information is added daily. 

Reports are grouped for convenience under specific topics and themes, and can be accessed within any of the NewsBank resources.

Hot Topics - Britannica ImageQuest photo of San Andreas Fault and Salton City, CA

Hot Topics

Find current research topics in Hot Topics, covering key global issues and people in business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more.  Topic groups include: Current Events, Business & Economics, Civics, Government & Politics, Social Issues, Science, Technology & Health, Sports, Arts & Literature, and People In The News . Click the 'Search This Topic' link under any topic and go to page with more articles on the given topic. Access Hot Topics within any NewsBank resource.

Washington State News

Explore and research topics across Washington State. This resource contains 136 news sources from across the state including: the Bellingham Herald, Chronicle (Centralia), Columbian (Vancouver), Daily Herald (Everett), Daily Record (Ellensburg), Daily World (Aberdeen), Kitsap Sun and Kitsap Daily News, News Tribune (Tacoma), The Olympian, Seattle Times, Spokesman-Review (Spokane), Tri-City Herald, Yakima Herald-Republic, and news broadcast transcripts from television stations in Seattle and Spokane.

The Seattle Times Collection

Search more than 30 years of Seattle area history with The Seattle Times Collection. Coverage is from 1985 to current. Find full-color newspaper pages, with photos and advertisements, in 'Seattle Times, The (WA) '/ Format: Image.  

Find individual full-text articles (no photos)  in 'Seattle Times, The (WA)' / Format: Text and 'Seattle Times, The: Blogs (WA). 

Find web-only text content in 'Seattle Times, The: Web Edition Articles (WA)'.

Search WebPath Express

Search over 100,000 relevant, accurate, and up-to-date websites.  Narrow results by:
     Topic
     Source Type (dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia, magazine, news, primary source)
     Format (media types such as eBook, interactive, music, video, animation, audio, image)
     Language (English, French, Spanish, Chinese, and many others)
     Domain (.gov, .com. .ca, .ru, etc.)

Get Help

The librarian is always happy to help you!

  In Person - during library hours, 
       8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m., Monday - Friday

  Or Request an appointment

  By Phone - during library hours

  By Email - Susan Trower

Quick Links

Search the WSA Library Catalog

Find books, digital resources (ebooks), WebPath Express websites, and Open Educational Resources (OER).

Librarian

Susan Trower's picture
Susan Trower
Contact:
West Sound Academy
16571 Creative Drive NE
Poulsbo, WA 98370
360-598-5954
Website

Library Mission Statement

The mission of the library is to provide the resources needed to meet the interest, information, and enlightenment needs of the West Sound Academy community.  The library's collection of print and ebook titles have been selected to support the demands of the West Sound Academy curriculum and to provide opportunities for recreational reading and pursuit of individual interests.  West Sound Academy's twenty subscription databases provide access to thousands more articles, ebooks, primary source documents, copyright-cleared images and other multimedia resources. 

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian