Skip to main content

IB Theatre - Research Presentation: Databases

This guide provides resources for the Research Presentation (Task 3) external assessment for IB Theatre.

WSA Databases

Ottoman shadow puppets, Karagöz and Hacivat - Britannica Image QuestLook for articles and multimedia on world theatre traditions in WSA databases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

History Study Center

JSTOR

ProQuest

ProQuest Learning: Literature

Questia School

World Book Advanced

History Study Center

JSTOR

 

 

 

Featured journals in JSTOR:  

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ
Coverage: 1984-2012 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 29, No. 2)
Moving Wall: 3 years
Comparative Drama
Coverage: 1967-2012 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 46, No. 4)
Moving Wall: 3 years
Early Theatre  
Coverage: 1998-2013 (Vol. 1 - Vol. 16, No. 2)
Moving Wall: 2 years
Theatre Journal
Coverage: 1979-2010 (Vol. 31, No. 1 - Vol. 62, No. 4)
Moving Wall: 5 years
Victorian Studies
Coverage: 1957-2015 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 58, No. 1)
Moving Wall: 3 years
 

What is a moving wall?  The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Moving walls are generally represented in years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in JSTOR shortly after publication.

Note: In calculating the moving wall, the current year is not counted.

For example, if the current year is 2008 and a journal has a 5 year moving wall, articles from the year 2002 are available.

ProQuest

Featured journals in ProQuest:  

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ
Full text coverage: Spring 1998 (Vol. 15, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
Citation/Abstract coverage: Spring 1998 (Vol. 15, no. 1) - present
Comparative Drama
Full text coverage: Spring 1994 (Vol. 28, no. 1) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage: Spring 1989 (Vol. 23, no. 1) - present
Min Su Qu Yi 
Full text coverage:  March 2012 (no.175) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage: March 2012 (no.175) - present
Theatre History Studies
Full text coverage:  2001 (Vol. 21) - present 
Citation/Abstract coverage:  2001 (Vol. 21) - present
Theatre Journal
Full text coverage:  March 1996 (Vol. 48, no.1) - present (delayed 1 year)
Citation/Abstract coverage:  March 1989 (Vol. 41, no.1) - present
Theatre Notebook
Full text coverage: 2006 (Vol. 60, no.1) - present (delayed 1 year)
Citation/Abstract coverage:  2005 (Vol. 59, no.1) - present, some exceptions
Theatre Research International
Full text coverage: March 2001 (Vol. 26, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
Citation/Abstract coverage: Spring 1989 (Vol. 14, no. 1) - present
Victorian Studies
Full text coverage: Winter 1994 (Vol. 37, no. 2) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage: Winter 1989 (Vol. 32, no. 2) - present

ProQuest Learning: Literature

Featured journals in ProQuest Learning: Literature:  

Asian Theatre Journal: ATJ
Full text coverage: Spring 1998 (Vol. 15, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
Folklore
Full text coverage: 1997 - December 2007
Victorian Studies
Full text coverage: 1994 - present (delayed 1 year

Questia School

World Book Advanced

Gale Virtual Reference Library

GVRL eBooks with articles on world theatre traditions:

Greek Comedy and Tragedy - Ancient Greece

Roman Comedy and Tragedy - Ancient Rome

Topeng Dance - Bali

Cantonese, Yueju and Peking opera - China

Yuan Drama or Zaju - China

English Renaissance theatre - England

Medieval Mystery Plays - England, France, Germany

Kathakali - India

Barong (or Rangda) Dance - Indonesia

Kecak - Indonesia

Wayang Golek puppetry - Indonesia, Malaysia

Wayang Kulit shadow puppetry - Indonesia, Malaysia

Commedia Dell'arte - Italy

Bunraku - Japan

Kabuki - Japan

Kyōgen farce and Noh theatre - Japan

Khon dance drama - Thailand

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian