Skip to main content

IB Theatre - Director's Notebook: Archive & Annotate Your Online Sources

Archive and Annotate

Online sources can change, become temporarily unavailable, or even disappear.  The Archive and Annotate feature allows you to save webpages and PDF files to your NoodleTools projects.  You can also highlight and add notes to your archived pages to remind yourself why the source is important to your research.

With Archive and Annotate, you can easily access your source material at any time by clicking the link next to a citation in your bibliography.  Your instructor can also view your archived source material in case you have questions or need additional help.

The tutorials below show you how to:

​​Download a PDF of this entire page here:  

Adding the Bookmarklet to Your Browser

If you include a URL for a web or database source in any Junior or Advanced level Bibliography, you'll see an "Archive & annotate page" link to the left of your citation.  Click it.

"Archive & annotate page" link to the left of a citation

1.  To install the Archive and Annotate bookmarklet on your Mac or PC, click on the "Archive This" button and drag it to your Bookmarks bar.

Click the "Archive This" button and drag it to your Bookmarks bar

2.  Now your browser bar will always show an "Archive This" button for all your projects.

"Archive This" button in the browser bar

3.To begin archiving and annotating webpages and PDFs, close the setup instructions.  Note:  if you do not want to see these instructions again, check the box "Don't show these instructions again" in the lower left corner.  To return to the instructions later, the URL is http://www.noodletools.com/support/archivesetup.php

Archive and Annotate a Webpage Linked to a Citation

Note:  If you have not installed the bookmarklet to your browser, first go to the setup instructions.

1.  Navigate to a webpage you want to save.  If you wish to highlight a section of the page, select the section.  Click "Archive This" in the Bookmarks bar to save the entire source.

Highlight a section of the webpage you wish to save, then click "Archive This" in the Bookmarks bar

2.  NoodleTools will autofill the title (which you can edit) into the Title field of the "Archive Page" pop-up.

NoodleTools will autofill the title into the Title field of the "Archive Page" pop-up

3.  In the Project field, you will see the name of the project you currently have open.  Note:  If you don't have a project open, you can use the drop-down menu to select a project.

4.  In the Annotation field, you can add a comment about the entire source or enter notes about the passage you've highlighted.

5.  A checkbox (bottom left) may show that this note will be attached to your most recent source.  Uncheck this box if you do not want to archive your note with that source.

6.  Click Save and return to your Bibliography page.  Note:  notes cannot be re-edited after they are added.

7.  Reload your citation list, and the "Archive & annotate page" link will update to read "View archived page."

Citation list now shows "View archived page" next to citation

8.  To return to your archived page with the notes & highlights, click "View archived page."

9.  To mark-up another part of the same webpage, click "View archived page" again.  Highlight new text and click the "Archive This" button.  When the "Archive Page" pop-up window appears, you can add a new annotation to the highlighted text.

Three blue buttons (upper-right) allow you to navigate your notes.  To view your notes, click the "+" button to open the heading.  The image below displays the heading as open.

Use blue buttons in upper-right of window to navigate your notes on the archived webpage

Options:

A.  View or close your highlights
B.  To view or close the heading
C.  Goes to the live webpage (the "source") using its own URL

When you have added multiple notes to a webpage, you will see left and right arrows (to the right of the blue buttons) that allow you to move between the different annotations you've created.

Use the left and right arrows to move between the different annotations you've made

Archive and Annotate a PDF linked to a Citation

Note: if you have not installed the bookmakrlet to your browser, first go to the setup instructions.

1.  Navigate to a PDF file you want to save.

2.  Click the "Archive This" button in the Bookmarks bar.

3.  A yellow bar at the top will appear displaying "PDF uploaded!"

4.  Click the "Archive This" button in your browser to save your archive.

Archiving a PDF

5.  After you click the "Archive This" button again, an "Archive Page" pop-up window will appear.  NoodleTools will autofill the title (which you can edit) into the Title field of the "Archive Page" pop-up.

6.  In the Project field, you will see the name of the project you currently have open.  Note:  if you don't have a project open, you can use the drop-down menu to select a project.

7.  In the Annotation field, you can add a comment about the entire source.  Note:  Highlighting is not available for PDF files.

8.  A checkbox (bottom left) may show that this note will be attached to your most recent source.  Note:  Uncheck this box if you do not want to archive your note with that source.

9.  Click Save and return to your Bibliography page.  Note:  Notes cannot be re-edited after they are added.

10.  Reload your citations and the "Archive & annotate page" link will update to read "View archived page."

11.  To view the archived PDF file, click the "View archived page" link next to the citation.

Note:  Archive & Annotate does not work for a PDF that is contatined in a "reader frame," e.g. the document is viewed inside an Adobe Acrobat Reader browser plugin, instead of the browser's native PDF view.  Whenever possible, choose the option to view the PDF file without the reader frame, to archive it with your source.

 

Archive and Annotate a Webpage or PDF Before You Create a Citation

Note:  If you have not installed the bookmarklet to your browser, first go to the setup instructions.

The following steps describe how to create a "placeholder citation" that you can edit later to create a complete citation.

1.  Navigate to a webpage or PDF file you want to save.  Click "Archive This" in the Bookmarks bar to save the entire source.

2.  If you are not logged into NoodleTools, you will be prompted to login.

3.  If you are archiving a PDF file, you will be prompted to click "Archive This" again.

4.  In the Project field, you will see the name of the project you currently have open.  Note:  If you don't have a project open, you can use the drop-down menu to select a project.

5.  In the Annotation field, you can add a comment about the entire source or enter notes on a passage you've highlighted on a webpage.  

6.  A checkbox (bottom left) may show that this note will be attached to a source you worked on recently.

7.  Since you are archiving a new source, uncheck the box that shows a source that you most recently worked on.

8.  Click Save and return to your Bibliography page.  Note:  notes cannot be re-edited after they are added.

9.  Reload your Bibliography or Works Cited page and the archived page will link to a new "placeholder" citation (see screenshot below.)  You will need to edit the citation and supply any missing data, like the web site title, publisher, and/or publication date.

Placeholder citation

NoodleTools Links

Get Help

The librarian is always happy to help you!

  In Person - during library hours, 
       8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m., Monday - Friday

  Or Request an appointment

  By Phone - during library hours

  By Email - Susan Trower

Acknowledgement

Content on this page is based on a tutorial created by NoodleTools:

Rogers, Amy. "Archive and Annotate." File last modified on 27 July 2015. PDF file. 

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian