Skip to main content

Library: Find Websites

Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources

Power Searching

This page gives suggestions for effective Internet searching using:

WebPath Express
Google
Other Search Engines
Meta Search Engines
Web Repositories
Search Directories

For information focused on a specific subject, see the other page in this section:

Websites by Subject

Britannica ImageQuest - University of Pennsylvania students searching the library in 1962
A different kind of search:  University of Pennsylvania students looking for books in the library stacks in 1962 (Britannica ImageQuest)

Use WebPath Express to Find Relevant Web Sites

WebPath Express, a collection of more than 100,000 trustworthy, relevant websites, is part of the WSA library catalog.  You can search WebPath Express using Follett Destiny.

WebPath sites are vetted (screened) by Follett's librarians for accuracy and reliability, and  more than 1,200 new sites are added every month!  Every web site in a search results list gives a summary of what's on the site or specific page, the grade level range (6-8, 9-12), subject covered, and the link.  When you search the WSA catalog, results will include both our print resources and sites in the WebPath Express collection. 

The results in a Follett Destiny search are shown in five tabs:  All, Books, Digital (eBooks), Databases, and Open Educational Resources (OER).  Click on the Databases tab, then the 'Show Resources' button to the right of the WebPath Express icon.

WebPath Express results in Destiny Discover

Use the Follett Destiny search box below to find books, ebooks, databases, and OER resources ...OR use the WebPath search box above to limit your search to databases and WebPath Express.

Google

Google is obviously one of the best known search engines, but are you making full use of all the features Google offers?  Find out more about how Google can be used from these help pages from Google Support:

Five Basic Search Tips from Google
Using Search Operators, Punctuation, and Symbols to Get More Specific Search Results
Finding Images, Videos, and Text That You Have Permission to Use
Filtering Your Results from Web Searches and Image Searches
Using Advanced Search When Looking for Websites or Images
Understanding the Different Parts of the Google Search Results Page

Try using Advanced Search in Google to improve the relevancy of the results you get:

Advanced Search for Websites
Advanced Search for Images

Try these specific searches in Google:

Search Engines

Search engines are programs that search documents for specified keywords and returns a list of the documents where the keywords were found. Web search engines, like Google, Bing and Yahoo!, enable users to search for documents on the Internet.

Typically, web search engines work by sending out a spider to fetch as many documents as possible. Another program, called an indexer, then reads these documents and creates an index based on the words contained in each document. Each search engine uses a proprietary algorithm to create its indices such that, ideally, only meaningful results are returned for each query.

Search WebPath Express

Search over 100,000 relevant, accurate, and up-to-date websites.  Narrow results by:
     Topic
     Source Type (dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia, magazine, news, primary source)
     Format (media types such as eBook, interactive, music, video, animation, audio, image)
     Language (English, French, Spanish, Chinese, and many others)
     Domain (.gov, .com. .ca, .ru, etc.)

Metasearch engines

Meta search engines are search engine tools that pass queries on to many other search engines and/or directories and then summarize all the results in one handy interface.

Repositories

A web repository is a central place in which an aggregation of data is kept and maintained in an organized way.

Search Directories

A search directory is a website in which links to information are organized by subject, and in alphabetical order, to make it easier for users to find the information they're seeking.

         

West Sound Academy Library | PO Box 807 |16571 Creative Drive NE | Poulsbo, WA 98370 | 360-598-5954 | Contact the librarian